Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 12/01/23 at 2:53am


Pages: 1
Wayne County Speedway - 7/23 Results (Read 2912 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Wayne County Speedway - 7/23 Results
07/24/16 at 1:07pm
July 23, 2016


By Mike Swanger
ORRVILLE, OH (July 23) - The racing on the track was as hot as the temperature with action very competitive for the 2nd annual STARS Buckeye Late Model speedweek show with a $4,000 to win Don Gross Memorial. The night would start out with Doug Drown setting the fast time for the second night in a row as last years winner, Duane Chamberlain, Max Blair and Devin Moran, who would come from fourth place, after having a wild qualifying attempt that nearly rolled his car, would score the heat wins with Aussie Paul Stubber topping the last chance race. Five time track champion Ryan Markham and Rod Conley would bring the field to the green flag of the 40 lap feature as Drown would move right into second as he and Markham would go back and forth for the first 4 circuits with Markham scored the leader at the line each lap. Chamberlain would back it a three car battle for the couple of laps when the caution would fly for opening night winner, Tyler Carpenter, who had a flat tire. Chamberlain would take second on lap 11 and flirted with the lead but Markham would continue to be the leader. The caution would once again wave on lap 15 for Brad Malcuit. The line up would stay status quo on the restart until lap 22 when Drown would reclaim 2nd from Chamberlain as Moran would start to become a factor as he took third from Chamberlain and two laps later swiped second from Drown as Jeff Babcock moved ahead of Chamberlain on lap 27. After setting the pace for the opening 28 laps, Markham lost the lead to Moran on lap 29, who would start to pull away as Babcock would move into third in front of Drown. As Moran went down the back stretch on lap 33, he slowed and came to a stop on the front stretch with a broken rear end. Markham would re inherit the lead with Babcock on his rear bumper as tenth starting Zach Dohm was putting the heat on Drown for third and took that position away with four laps to go. Up front, Babcock would do a slider move on Markham in turns three and four as the white flag was in the air. Heading around for the last time, Babcock would hold off Markham’s last move and put the Wayne, Ohio based Best Performance Motorsports, Bulk Material Lift .com and  CRE/Rocket #7b into victory circle. Markham would finish second with Dohm in third as Drown claimed fourth. Corey Conley was fifth.
After a couple of rain outs, the OVSCA Sprints made their first visit to NAPA WCS as Mitch Harble would take the lead from his outside pole position as Fremont’s DJ Foos would grab second from his 5th starting spot. Foos would waste little time taking over the point, as he took the lead on lap three and opened up a comfortable lead as Jordan Ryan worked his way past Harble on lap nine. The caution flag waved on lap 17 as track points leader Danny Mumaw and Chris Myers were involved in a spin with Mumaw going on the hook to end his night as Myers was able to continue. With the race back to green, Ryan made an early run at Foos for the lead, who would pull away aboard the General Contractors, Fremont Fab and Kistler Engines #23. Harble held on to third with Brandon Conkel and Andre Layfield filling out the top five. Harble, Layfield and Ryan posted the heat wins with Nick Patterson besting the last chance race.
Last weeks winner Bob Daugherty and 5 time winner and points leader Tyler Thompson would bring the Action Auto Body Super Stocks to the green flag with Daugherty seizing the lead. After a couple of cautions in the opening laps, Daugherty of Mansfield would separate himself from the field as Paul Holmes and Chase Alexander would power past Thompson on lap four for second and third. A yellow on lap 11 would bunch the field back up, but Daugherty and his Char’s Cars, McKenzie Concrete and Innovative Graphics #21d would once again pull away. Tyler Nicely slid past Thompson for fourth on the restart and on the next circuit around Orrville’s Historic Oval, Alexander took second from Holmes but could not track down Daugherty in the closing laps. Holmes held off Nicely for third as Thompson settled for fifth. Both Daugherty and Thompson won their fourth heat races of the season.
Contingency Connection’s Racer Rewards nightly awards plus the yearly awards that total over $100,000 were once again being competed for by the drivers at NAPA WCS.
Next Saturday night, July 30, will Be Kids Night with many activities and prizes going on for the kids. Watch the website at www.waynecountyspeedway.com and facebbok/waynecountyspeedway for all the things happening for the kids. Racing action will see the Ohio Sprint Car Series in the spot light with a $2,500 to win feature. Jac Haudenschild was the winner of the July 2nd race at NAPA WCS. The Harriger Towing Super Late Models, the Kar Connection Rush Late Models, the Action Auto Body Super Stocks, the WQKT Sports Country 104.5 Mini Stocks and the Flat Track Carts all will be in action also. Gates will open at 3 pm.

Saturday, July 23, 2016
Fast Qualifier  Doug Drown  17.131 seconds
Heat   1   Duane Chamberlain, Doug Drown, Rick Bond, Zach Dohm, Chris Shannon, JR Gentry, Jerry Aber, Kirk Baker, Jim Nicely
Heat   2   Max Blair, Ryan Markham, Corey Conley, Tyler Carpenter, Jason Montgomery, Brad Malcuit, Paul Stubber, Blaine Aber, Jeremy Berwanger
Heat   3   Devin Moran, Rod Conley, Jeff Babcock, Jeremy Misel, Allan Baker, Scott Smith, Larry Bellman, Jason Skelly
‘B’Main   Paul Stubber, Kirk Baker, Larry Bellman, Jim Nicely, Blaine Aber, Jerry Aber, Jason Skelly
Don Gross Memorial Feature   Jeff Babcock, Ryan Markham, Zach Dohm, Doug Drown, Corey Conley, Tyler Carpenter, Duane Chamberlain, Max Blair, Jason Montgomery, Rod Conley, Chris Shannon, Brad Malcuit, Rick Bond, Paul Stubber, Jeremy Misel, Kirk Baker, Jim Nicely, Larry Bellman, Devin Moran, Scott Smith, Blaine Aber, Allan Baker, JR Gentry, Jerry Aber

Heat   1   Mitch Harble, Roger Campbell, Brandon Conkel, Dave Dickson, Dylan Kingan, Kris Davis, Butch Beasley, Andy Fike
Heat   2   Andre Layfield, Danny Mumaw, DJ Foos, Chris Myers, Clay Riney, Nick Patterson, Troy Kingan, Lane Cecil
Heat   3   Jordan Ryan, Jason Dolick, George Prosser, Shawn Hubler, Randy Fink, Tyler Dunn, Jamie Myers dns
‘B’Main   Nick Patterson, Troy Kingan, Tyler Dunn, Kris Davis, Butch Beasley, Andy Fike, Lane Cecil, Jamie Myers dns
Feature   DJ Foos, Jordan Ryan, Mitch Harble, Brandon Conkel, Andre Layfield, Dave Dickson, Roger Campbell, Nick Patterson, Shawn Hubler, Jason Dolick, George Prosser, Troy Kingan, Chris Myers, Clay Riney, Tyler Dunn, Randy Fink, Kris Davis, Butch Beasley, Dylan Kingan, Danny Mumaw

Heat   1   Tyler Thompson, Gary Hensel Jr., Chase Alexander, Jim Nicely, Darren Dawson, Tom Fisher, Steve Ott, Jordan James
Heat   2   Bob Daugherty, Paul Holmes, Brandon Craver, Tyler Nicely, Brad Eagle, Don Rutt, Richard Grogg, Tod Beviloqua
Feature   Bob Daugherty, Chase Alexander, Paul Holmes, Tyler Nicely, Tyler Thompson, Gary Hensel Jr., Darren Dawson, Brad Eagle, Jim Nicely, Tod Beviloqua, Richard Grogg, Brandon Craver, Jordan James, Tom Fisher, Don Rutt, Steve Ott dns
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.