Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/14/19 at 1:09am


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/15 Results (Read 550 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/15 Results
09/15/16 at 11:27pm
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Knoxville Raceway
September 15, 2016

Moyer Dominates Night One of the Knoxville Late Model Nationals

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (September 15) - Billy Moyer ran away from the field on night one of the 13th Annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals on Thursday Night at Knoxville Raceway. In the waning months of the final year of his racing career, Billy Moyer led all 25 laps of the event to claim his 815th career victory.
Brandon Sheppard tried to track down Moyer late in the race, but had to settle for second place in the Best Performance Motorsports/Dargie-powered/Rocket. Josh Richards' Valvoline/Mark Richards Racing/Rocket crossed the line in third. Completing the top five were: Shane Clanton and Jimmy Mars.
Moyer started on the outside of the front row and got the jump at the start of the race and never trailed. "I wasn't pleased with the car during the heat race, so we made some adjustments and it really took off well in the feature."

"I didn't know how close those guys were. It's a fine line up top here. One mistake here and you could wind up in the wall. I have always enjoyed coming here to race and maybe it will turn out like 2010." Moyer was speaking of the Knoxville weekend where he won all three main events. It was Moyer's ninth career win at Knoxville.
Sheppard ran second for the entire distance, but the pole-sitter couldn't get close enough to take over the lead. "We tried our best to get up there. We drove hard, but Billy was just better than everyone tonight. I thought when he jumped that cushion that we had a shot, but I just wasn't close enough. We will take this second place finish and build on it for tomorrow. Tonight was a good point night."
Richards had a hard-fought battle with Clanton for most of the race. The two raced side-by-side several times before the third spot was settled. "We love coming here to race. Tonight we had a good car and we learned a lot, so maybe tomorrow night we can come back even better."
Completing the top ten were: Bobby Pierce, Chris Simpson, Don O'Neal, Jonathan Davenport, and Tim McCreadie.

In preliminary action, Mike Marlar set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 69 entrants, with a lap of 17.596 seconds. Kyle Bronson set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 17.644 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Darrell Lanigan, Billy Moyer, Gregg Satterlee, and Jason Rauen won their respective heat races. Spencer Diercks won the D-Main. Jake O'Neal won the C-Main. Mike Marlar won the B-Main.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Thursday, September 15th, 2016
13th Annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals - Presented by Casey's General Store
Knoxville Raceway - Knoxville, IA

1 2 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR $7,000
2 1 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $4,000
3 6 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $3,000
4 4 25c Shane Clanton Zabulon, GA $2,000
5 3 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI $1,500
6 5 32P Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL $1,000
7 8 32X Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $900
8 7 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $800
9 12 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $700
10 20 39m Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $800
11 11 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $580
12 10 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $560
13 13 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $540
14 22 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $720
15 9 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $500
16 14 22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA $490
17 24 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $680
18 16 98 Jason Rauen Farley, IA $470
19 21 18b Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL $460
20 18 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL $450
21 19 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN $440
22 15 20x Rodney Sanders Happy, TX $430
23 17 B1 Brent Larson Lake Elmo, MN $410
24 23 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $400

B-Main Finish (15 Laps, Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): Mike Marlar, Tim McCreadie, Shannon Babb, Earl Pearson, Jr., Kyle Bronson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chase Junghans, Ricky Weiss, Chad Simpson, Nick Hoffman, Billy Moyer, Jr., Frank Heckenast, Jr., Kent Robinson, Morgan Bagley, Joey Moriarty, Tim Lance, Ricky Thornton Jr., Ray Guss, Jr., Jake O'Neil, Vic Hill, RC Whitwell, Rich Bell

C-Main Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer to B-Main): Jake O'Neil ,Ricky Thornton Jr., Ricky Weiss, Morgan Bagley, Rob Toland, Matt Furman, Ryan Unzicker, Nick Marolf, Justin Duty, Mike Fryer, Jay Johnson, Joel Callahan, Kerry King, Sr., Mason Zeigler, Chad Holladay, Mitch McGrath, Colton Flinner, Spencer Diercks, John Duty, Chad Mahder, Dave Eckrich, Jason Utter-DNS

D-Main: Spencer Diercks, Colton Flinner, Mitch McGrath, Jay Johnson, Rob Moss, Doug Sanders, Brian Ledbetter, Charlie McKenna, Jared Hawkins-DNS, Dale McDowell-DNS, Donny Schatz-DNS, Jesse Sobbing-DNS, Ryan Gustin-DNS, Al Humphrey-DNS

Heat Race #1: Jimmy Owens, Rodney Sanders, Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, RC Whitwell, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Morgan Bagley, Mason Zeigler, Rob Moss, Doug Sanders, Jared Hawkins

Heat Race #2: Steve Francis, Brent Larson, Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer, Jr., Chad Simpson, Vic Hill, Rob Toland, Ricky Thornton Jr., Joel Callahan, Spencer Diercks, Brian Ledbetter, Ryan Gustin

Heat Race #3: Darrell Lanigan, Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Mars, Dennis Erb, Jr., Shannon Babb, Ray Guss, Jr., Chad Holladay, Matt Furman, Justin Duty, Jay Johnson, Mitch McGrath

Heat Race #4: Billy Moyer, Shane Clanton, Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Kyle Bronson, Tim Lance, Dave Eckrich, Nick Marolf, Jason Utter, Jesse Sobbing, Colton Flinner

Heat Race #5: Gregg Satterlee, Chris Simpson, Tyler Erb, Chase Junghans, Rich Bell, Kent Robinson, Jake O'Neil, Chad Mahder, John Duty, Donny Schatz, Al Humphrey

Heat Race #6: Jason Rauen, Josh Richards, Jason Feger, Earl Pearson, Jr., Joey Moriarty, Nick Hoffman, Ricky Weiss, Mike Fryer, Kerry King, Sr., Dale McDowell, Charlie McKenna

Fast Time Group A: Mike Marlar / 17.596 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Kyle Bronson / 17.644 seconds

Event photos courtesy of John Vass

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.