Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/22/19 at 7:08pm


Pages: 1
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/16 Results (Read 564 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14878
United States
Lucas Oil Series at Knoxville Raceway - 9/16 Results
09/17/16 at 2:22am
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Knoxville Raceway
September 16, 2016

Richards rolls to victory at Friday night Knoxville Late Model Nationals

KNOXVILLE, IOWA (September 16) - Josh Richards picked up his fifth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Friday Night at Knoxville Raceway. Richards took the lead from Shannon Babb and then pulled away for the win on the second preliminary night. For Richards it was his 26th overall win of the season.

Owens and Babb had a near photo-finish for second at the finish line, with Owens just edging out Babb for the runner-up spot. Dale McDowell came home in fourth, followed by Mike Marlar.

Richards, who has four runner-up finishes in his career in the Saturday Night finale of the Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals, set himself up for a good starting spot, completing a perfect night in points. Richards started seventh and took the lead with nine laps to go from Babb.

Richards; in the Mark Richards Racing/Valvoline/Seubert Calf Ranches/Rocket House Car; was happy with his car's performance. "We had a good point night last night. The track was in good shape tonight with the rain they had overnight. The car was phenomenal, I can't thank my crew enough. Andy Durham builds an awesome race engine."

"We have had an awesome season, but tomorrow night is one that we really want to win. There are a lot of great cars here. We have been so close to winning the big one at Knoxville. It is one that we circle on our calendar every year to come to. You really don't feel that you are in a comfort spot here. It was a handful tonight, but it was a lot of fun."

Owens led the first lap until Babb took over the lead. The two didn't meet up again until the final lap when Owens nipped him at the line. "We made several changes to the car. Shannon was good and then Josh got up there. Most of the time we have a really good race track here. We ran the bottom for several laps and then the top. I want to thank R&W Racing for putting me in good equipment."

Babb, who led several laps of the 25-lap event was pleased with his run. "Absolutely we are tickled to death to get a podium finish. We just wanted to see what our car could do up front. It was definitely strong. It could be a little bit better. I slid up there in four and Jimmy got underneath me. I can't wait until tomorrow night now," said the driver of the Petroff Towing/Rocket.

Completing the ten were Rodney Sanders, Jimmy Mars, Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, and Chris Simpson.

In preliminary action, Josh Richards set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 65 entrants, with a lap of 17.090 seconds. Dale McDowell set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 17.402 seconds. Josh Richards, Tim Lance, Brandon Sheppard, Chase Junghans, Dennis Erb Jr. and Chad Mahder won their respective heat races. Gregg Satterlee won the C-Main. Tim McCreadie won the B-Main.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, September 16th, 2016
13th Annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals - Presented by Casey's General Store
Knoxville Raceway - Knoxville, IA

1 7 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $7,000
2 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $4,000
3 1 18b Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL $3,000
4 8 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA $2,000
5 5 157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN $1,500
6 4 20x Rodney Sanders Happy, TX $1,000
7 16 28m Jimmy Mars Menomonie, WI $900
8 6 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $800
9 12 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $700
10 9 32 Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $600
11 19 39m Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $780
12 18 33c Chad Mahder Eau Claire, WI $560
13 20 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $740
14 21 15 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $720
15 10 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $500
16 11 51M Joey Moriarty Glendale, AZ $490
17 13 48L Tim Lance Brimfield, IL $480
18 22 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $670
19 23 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $660
20 14 29d Spencer Diercks Davenport, IA $450
21 17 7R Kent Robinson Bloomington, IN $440
22 15 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $430
23 24 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR $410
24 2 18 Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS $400

B-Main Finish (15 Laps, Top 6 Transfer to A-Main): Tim McCreadie, Don O'Neal, Darrell Lanigan, Earl Pearson, Jr., Steve Francis, Billy Moyer, Chad Simpson, Kyle Bronson, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Tyler Erb, Ricky Weiss, RC Whitwell, Jason Rauen, Billy Moyer, Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Gregg Satterlee, Ricky Thornton Jr., Nick Hoffman, Morgan Bagley, Jason Utter, Bobby Pierce, Joel Callahan

C-Main Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer to B-Main): Gregg Satterlee, Ricky Thornton Jr., Ricky Weiss, RC Whitwell, Nick Marolf, Rich Bell, Jason Feger, Vic Hill, Rob Toland, Justin Duty, Mike Fryer, Rob Moss, Colton Flinner, John Duty, Brian Ledbetter, Doug Sanders, Mason Zeigler, Brent Larson, Jay Johnson, Dave Eckrich, Matt Furman-DNS, Kerry King, Sr.-DNS

D-Main (Did Not Run, Top 4 Transfer to C-Main): Rob Toland, Jay Johnson, Brian Ledbetter, John Duty, Shane Clanton-DNS, Ryan Gustin-DNS, Mitch McGrath-DNS, Ray Guss, Jr.-DNS, Jake O'Neil-DNS, Charlie McKenna-DNS, Chad Holladay-DNS

Heat Race #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Josh Richards, Chris Simpson, Kent Robinson, Earl Pearson, Jr., Don O'Neal, Billy Moyer, Jr., Nick Marolf, Ricky Weiss, Rob Moss, Jay Johnson, John Duty

Heat Race #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Tim Lance, Joey Moriarty, Mike Marlar, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Jason Rauen, Bobby Pierce, Justin Duty, Vic Hill, Mike Fryer, Mitch McGrath, Shane Clanton-DNS

Heat Race #3 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Shannon Babb, Jimmy Owens, Billy Moyer, Darrell Lanigan, Jason Utter, Ricky Thornton Jr., Kerry King, Sr., Colton Flinner, Ryan Gustin, Ray Guss, Jr.

Heat Race #4 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Chase Junghans, Jonathan Davenport, Dale McDowell, Morgan Bagley, Kyle Bronson, Nick Hoffman, RC Whitwell, Gregg Satterlee, Mason Zeigler, Rob Toland, Charlie McKenna-DNS

Heat Race #5 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Dennis Erb, Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Mars, Chad Simpson, Tim McCreadie, Joel Callahan, Matt Furman, Brent Larson, Doug Sanders, Jake O'Neil, Chad Holladay

Heat Race #6 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Chad Mahder, Spencer Diercks, Rodney Sanders, Ryan Unzicker, Steve Francis, Tyler Erb, Dave Eckrich, Jason Feger, Rich Bell, Brian Ledbetter

Fast Time Group A: Josh Richards / 17.090 seconds
Fast Time Group B: Dale McDowell / 17.402 seconds
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.