Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 03/01/24 at 1:46pm


Pages: 1
CCSDS at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway - 9/2 Results (Read 1001 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
CCSDS at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway - 9/2 Results
10/02/16 at 2:01am
September 2, 2016

Eric Cooley Wins Ridge Thriller to Score CCSDS Checkers

by Ben Shelton
Paragould, Arkansas (09/02/16) – Eric Cooley topped the podium with the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil for the first time in his young career on Friday night with a $3,000 triumph at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway. The inaugural win is something that the Fulton, Mississippi racer will not soon forget.

“That was some really fun racing tonight, but at the same time it was nerve racking because to win you had to take big some chances in lapped traffic,” said Cooley. “There was no less than three times that I thought I had put myself in situation, where I was about to spin. But thankfully I didn’t, and we got this win.

Cooley went on to comment, “I have to dedicate this win to my crew guys because they are working so hard during the week to give me a top-notch car for the weekends. It feels good to finally be giving them the results that they deserve.”

Chandler Petty earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the 30-lap finale after not only setting fast time in qualifications but also winning the pole-sitter’s dash. He was joined on the front row by two-time series champion, Kyle Beard.

It would be Beard, who took command of the lead at the drop of the green flag as Petty, and the 3rd-starting Cooley began to duel for the runner-up position.

The event’s lone caution flew on lap 6 for Gavin Landers, who got crossed up in turn 2.

The restart found Cooley grabbing command of the 2nd position as he set his sights on Beard. Over the next several lap the duo battled through lapped traffic. Behind the leaders, two and three wide battles reigned supreme throughout the pack.

Beard and Cooley navigated heavy lapped traffic in the closing laps of the event, and exiting turn 2 on lap 27 Cooley used the low groove to pounce on the rim-riding Beard. Cooley grabbed the lead, but his dash to the checkers would not come without a final challenge.

Petty mounted a heroic charge as the leaders took the white flag and pulled within one car length of Cooley entering turn 1 amidst heavy, lapped traffic. Cooley would not be denied though as he registered the win in his Bryson Motorsports #33b Barry Wright entry. Petty, Shannon Scott, Kyle Beard, and Clay Fisher completed the Top 5 finishers.

1 33 Eric Cooley Fulton, MS
2 47 Chandler Petty Austin, AR
3 4s Shannon Scott Henryetta, OK
4 86 Kyle Beard Trumann, AR
5 99F Clay Fisher Dewitt, AR
6 R5 Hunter Rasdon Jonesboro, AR
7 18 Jack Sullivan Greenbriar, AR
8 6M Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR
9 1 John Hill Jonesboro, AR
10 187 Carl Thomas Jr West Memphis, AR
11 66 Robby Moore Brosley, MO
12 71A Allen Tippen Minden, LA
13 1R B.J. Robinson Haughton, LA
14 94 Scott Tracer Rector, AR
15 56 Jonathan Rowan Jackson, TN
16 2C Charlie Cole Wynne, AR
17 68 Shannon Brack Jonesboro, AR
18 7T Austin Theiss Hockley, TX
19 77 Gavin Landers Batesville, AR
20 21 Mark Nichols Bono, AR
21 93 Ray Moore  Haughton, LA
22 997 Travis Ashley Batesville, AR
23 F1 Jeff Floyd Walnut Ridge, AR
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.