Dirt Late Model
National Headlines


Clash PR
GASTONIA, N.C. (March 20) -  Dean Bowen was able to outrun the other 23 starters in the 10th Annual Skyler Trull Memorial at Carolina Speedway to bring home his 1st ever career Carolina Clash victory. "This victory is a big accomplishment for me, anytime you win in the Carolina Clash Series, you have accomplished something because these drivers are some of the best in the business" said Bowen shortly after taking the checkered flag in his Williams and Son Farms and Bowen's Tire sponsored Impala. "I'm looking forward to defending next weekend at 311, I hope the guys are ready because I'm going to make a run for the Championship this year. We have a great car and a great team." added Bowen.

Leading the 24 car starting field to the green flag was last season's rookie of the year winner, Chris Ferguson in his #22 machine and on the outside pole was this season's rookie of the year contender Donald Bradsher in the #93. At the drop of the green, Ferguson was able to motor his way to the top spot and would lead the race until lap 10 when his steering linkage broke and he had to retire from the event. This gave the top spot to the #15 of Dean Bowen with the #2 of Dennis "Rambo" Franklin in the runner up position and the #18m of Jeff Smith in the 3rd position. The top three would run nose to tail for the next 14 laps until another caution flag would fly. On the restart, a major accident on the front stretch involving the #44 of Justin Labonte and the #21 of Luke Roffers sent them spinning out of control into the inside wall. Neither car was able to return to the racing action due to the damage they received in the accident. On the restart, Bowen was able to motor out to about a three car lead over Franklin but Franklin quickly caught him and ran nose to tail with Bowen until about seven laps to go. Bowen then shifted his car into overdrive and pulled away from the field. Meanwhile, the fight for the second position was getting hot and heavy between Franklin and Smith. The two cars ran side by side through the corners for the entire last ten laps with Franklin being able to come away in the 2nd position. Smith came home in the 3rd position in his Menscer Motorsports machine. The 4th position went to the #54 of Ricky Weeks in his new ride with D & H Motorsports and rounding out your top 5 was the #09 of Johnny Pursley sponsored by Twin Oaks Service.

The hard charger award went to the #75 of G.R. Smith who started shotgun on the field in the 24th position after blowing an engine in practice and having to change motors during the night. Smith was able to finish the race in the 8th position. The hard luck award went to the #22 of Chris Ferguson for his tough luck when he broke on lap 10 while leading the race. Heintz Performance put up $250 to the fastest qualifier which was Chris Ferguson who in a show of class, donated the money to the Make-A-Wish Foundation. Ferguson set the pole with a time of 15.358 seconds. Sunoco Race Fuels donated 20 gallons of racing Fuel to the 10th place starter of the main event who was Jeff Smith. VP Race Fuels donated two, 5 gallon racing fuel jugs to the front row starters of Chris Ferguson and Donald Bradsher.

Heat race one saw the #9 of Ken Schrader take the early lead and never look back, leading all 8 laps in route to the heat race win. Coming in 2nd was the #57 of Dustin Mitchell, 3rd was 6p of Furman Parton, 4th was the #17 of Tim Allen, 5th was the #44 of Justin Labonte, and Mike Gault in the #17 rounded out your top 6 qualifying cars.

The second heat race saw the #84 of Jay Sessoms lead flag to flag in route to the heat race win. 2nd was the #87 of Ross Bailes, 3rd was the #14 of David Taylor, 4th was #9 of John Pursley, 5th was the #32 of Jim Rasey, and rounding out your top 6 was the #07 of Brian Ledbetter.

The Carolina Clash resumes its racing action next Saturday, March 27th at 311 Fastrack in Madison, NC for a 40 lap, $4,000 to win race. The Carolina Clash is looking forward to seeing everyone at 311 Fastrack for the second race of the 2010 Carolina Clash season.

Carolina Clash Super Late Models
Carolina Speedway
March 20, 2010

1. Dean Bowen (4)
2. Dennis "Rambo" Franklin (3)
3. Jeff Smith (10)
4 Ricky Weeks (5)
5. Johnny Pursley (09)
6. Dan Breuer (7)
7. Tim Allen (17)
8. GR Smith (24)
9. Donald Bradsher (2)
10. Jay Sessoms (12)
11. Zack Mitchell (13)
12. Brian Ledbetter (22)
13. David Taylor (16)
14. Michael Marlow (24)
15. Justin Labonte (19)
16. Luke Roffers (9)
17. Ross Bailes (14)
18 John Pursley (18)
19 Jim Rasey (20)
20. Jeff Cooke (8)
21. Mike Gault (21)
22. Ken Schrader (11)
23. Chris Ferguson (1)
24. Furman Parton 15)

Fastest Qualifier : Chris Ferguson

Heat Race #1 Results: (Top 6 transfer) Ken Schrader, Zack Mitchell, Furman Parton, Tim Allen, Justin Labonte, Mike Gault, Randy Harmon.

Heat Race #2 Results: (Top 6 transfer) Jay Sessoms, Ross Bailes, David Taylor, John Pursley, Jim Rasey, Brian Ledbetter, Kenny Compton, Michael Marlow.

Main Event Lap Leaders : Lap 1 - 10 : Car #22 Chris Ferguson
Lap 11- 40 Car # 15 Dean Bowen

Race Winners starting position - 4th
Hard Charger Award - Car # 75 GR Smith : Advanced 15 positions
Hard Luck Award - Car # 22 Chris Ferguson

The Carolina Clash resumes action on Saturday March 27th at 311 Fastrack in Madison, NC for a 40 lap $4,000 to win race. The Carolina Clash is looking forward to seeing everyone at 311 Fastrack for the second race of the 2010 Carolina Clash season.

Wall captures P.R.O. Super Late Model Series opener at Columbus Speedway

Thornton wins SWDRA Late Model season opener at Canyon Speedway Park

Turner wires opening night of the Tuckasee Toilet Bowl at Clarksville Speedway

Drake grabs second win of the year in LM opener at Bakersfield Speedway

Bloomquist tops McDowell for Lucas Oil Series victory
at Cherokee Speedway

Lucas grabs cool 7th Annual 'Frost Bite 50' victory at the South Mississippi Speedway

Cook collects Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory at Volunteer Speedway

Ellis holds off Thomas for Super Late Model victory
at Cleveland Speedway

Hollingsworth grabs SRRS Super Late Model win at Duck River Speedway

Drake banks $2,000 West Coast Shootout victory at Thunderbowl Raceway

Cook captures $10,000 'Bama Bash victory at the Green Valley Speedway

Mears captures 1st Annual
D Glenn Super Meltdown win at Moulton Speedway

Sullivan grabs $3,500 SUPR victory at the Texas World Dirt Track Championships

© 2005-10 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.