Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Alex Cummings
RURAL RETREAT, Va. (August 7) - Kenny Compton Jr. was able to grab his first career Carolina Clash win at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, VA Saturday night. The win came in Compton's third race of the season with the Carolina Clash in his Appalachian Leasing sponsored, Clements powered, Bloomquist chassis. "I'm glad that I won the Clash race tonight" said Kenny Compton Jr. after the race. "I think my luck is finally changing for the better".

When the green flag waved over the 24 car starting lineup, it was the 22 of Chris Ferguson grabbing the early lead from polesitter Dan Breuer. On lap 2, Breuer would lose a left rear tire in turn 2 while running 2nd. Breuer had to go on the business end of the tow truck which ended his night. On the restart, the 93 of Donald Bradsher would get out of shape and slam the outside frontstretch wall but was able to continue until lap 4 when he pulled behind the wall, ending his night's activities.

The beginning of the race saw side by side action from 5th place on back as drivers were fighting tooth and nail for each position. The scene looked like Interstate 85 during rush hour with two and three wide racing and bump drafting down the straightaways. The 201 of Billy Ogle Jr was on the move during this time passing cars high and low in route to the Safety Kleen Hard Charger of the Race Award in which he passed 15 cars during the race. Also on the move at this time was the 10 of Kenny Compton Jr. who started the race in 15th.

The caution flew again on lap 4 when the 12 of Jordan Bland blew a tire and slowed on the frontstretch. Lap 6 saw the 21 of Luke Roffers pull pitside ending his night. The 22 of GR Smith would bring out the fourth caution of the race when he slowed on the backstretch and pulled behind the wall ending his night. The caution is what Ferguson was dreading as his big lead would diminish to nothing. Following in second was the 18m of Jeff Smith who lately has been mentoring Ferguson.

On the restart Ferguson was able to maintain the lead but only until turn 3 when Compton made his way from fourth to first in just one lap. Compton grabbed the lead away from Ferguson with an inside pass in turn 3. During the next 25 lap green flag stretch, Compton would set a blistering pace and lap 6 cars on the large 1/2 mile, high banked oval.

The final caution would fly on lap 35 when the 00 of Freddy Smith stopped in turn 3 with heavy smoke trailing from behind the car. Until caution, the 18m of Jeff Smith would go pitside with a flat left rear tire while running the fourth position.

The green flag would fly again and set the stage for a 5 lap dash. Ferguson was able to stay on Compton's back bumper for the first lap until Compton put on the after burners and pulled away inroute to his first career victory with the Carolina Clash. Coming home in 2nd was the 22 of Chris Ferguson in his Starrette Trucking, Carver and Son's Roofing sponsored, Randy Clary powered, Rocket chassis. Bringing home the 3rd place finish was the 201 of Billy Ogle Jr. and Fourth was the 15 of Dean Bowen in his Bowen Tire, William and Son Farms sponsored, Clements powered, Rocket chassis. Rounding out your top five was the 1 of Vic Hill in his Pilot Travel Centers sponsored, Vic Hill Engines powered, GRT chassis.

Dennis Franklin is still showing the way in Carolina Clash points with 1373. Sitting a close second place just 43 points back is Dean Bowen. Third in Carolina Clash point's is Ricky Weeks who sits just 59 points out of first. All three drivers are within striking distance of the points lead heading into the doubleheader this weekend. Fourth is Chris Ferguson and fifth is Jay Sessoms.

The Carolina Clash gave out the following awards:
Comp Cams Feature Winner- ($100 gift certificate) Kenny Compton Jr.
Safety Kleen Hard Charger of the Race- (2 Cases of Oil) Billy Ogle Jr.
Shafer Enterprises Cool Shirts 5th Place Finisher- ($100 gift certificate) Vic Hill
Dirt Trax Hard Luck Award- ($100 cash) Dan Breuer
R2C Performance Heat Race Winners- ($50 gift certificate) Jeff Smith, Dan Breuer, Chris Ferguson, and Dean Bowen
Fastest Qualifier- Donald Bradsher-16:873 seconds

R2C Performance Heat Race #1 - Jeff Smith, Jordan Bland, Donald Bradsher, Mike Weeks, Craig Shuffield, Mike Parker, Stephen Evans, Luke Roffers

R2C Performance Heat Race Heat #2 - Dan Breuer, Ty Dillon, G.R. Smith, David Taylor, Kerry Jones, Dustin Mitchell, Ross White, Dennis Franklin

R2C Performance Heat Race #3 - Chris Ferguson, Vic Hill, Ricky Weeks, Freddy Smith, Travis Greer, Brian Ledbetter, Ray Jarnigan, Michael Marlowe

R2C Performance Heat Race #4 - Dean Bowen, Tim Allen, Daniel Baggerly, Kenny Compton Jr., Billy Ogle Jr., Jay Sessoms, Jimmy McCormick, Tommy Kerr

B Main # 1 - Craig Shuffield, Stephen Evans, Mike Parker, Brian Ledbetter, Travis Greer, Michael Marlowe, Ray Jarnigan, Luke Roffers

B Main # 2 - Billy Ogle Jr., Kerry Jones, Dennis Franklin, Dustin Mitchell, Jay Sessoms, Ross White, Jimmy McCormick, Tommy Kerr

Carolina Clash Comp Cams Feature Event:
1. Kenny Compton Jr.-Bland, VA
2. Chris Ferguson-Mount Holly, NC
3. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN
4. Dean Bowen-Whiteville, NC
5. Vic Hill-Mosheim, TN
6. Ty Dillon-Lewisville, NC
7. Kerry Jones-Bristol, TN
8. Ricky Weeks-Rutherfordton, NC
9. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, SC
10. Jeff Smith-Dallas, NC
11. Tim Allen-Kannapolis, NC
12. David Taylor-Fayetteville, NC
13. Daniel Baggerly-Rural Retreat, VA
14. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN
15. Jay Sessoms-Stanley, NC
16. Stephen Evans-Tyner, NC
17. Jordan Bland-Campbellsville, KY
18. Freddy Smith-Seymour, TN
19. G.R. Smith-Cornelius, NC
20. Ray Jarnigan-Thornhill, TN
21. Craig Shuffield-Fayetteville, NC
22. Luke Roffers-Concord, NC
23. Donald Bradsher-Burlington, NC
24. Dan Breuer-Troutman, NC

Next up for the Carolina Clash is a doubleheader weekend taking place on August 13 and August 14. Friday night, Cleveland County Speedway will play host for a $4,000 to win, 40 lap feature. Then on Saturday night, Fayetteville Motor Speedway will host the rained out races from the July 31st race.

Moyer sweeps the World of Outlaws Late Models return
to Shawano Speedway

Miley dominates the ASLMS 'Summer Sizzler' at Wayne County Speedway

Eckrich captures first Deery Brothers Summer Series
win at Farley Speedway

Richards ends drought with World of Outlaws Series win
at Eriez Speedway

Boen completes sweep with third straight NCRA Series victory at 81 Speedway

Schlieper scores Lucas Oil Late Model Series win at Hagerstown Speedway

Lanigan gets third WoOLMS feature win in four starts at Muskingum Co. Speedway

Lee cashes $3,000 NASRA Late Model win at Lake Cumberland Speedway

Johnson captures Mike Head Jr Memorial victory at the Talladega Short Track

Boen captures NCRA/CLMA Shootout win at the Dodge City Raceway Park

Lanigan steals Thursday night World of Outlaws Series win at Sharon Speedway

Bloomquist takes sixth Lucas Oil Late Model victory at Utica-Rome Speedway

Knollinger is eighth different Fastrak NE Series winner at Sharon Speedway

© 2005-10   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.