Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Clash Media
LAWNDALE, N.C. (August 13) -  Johnny Pursley makes a clean sweep of Cleveland County Speedway winning yet again Friday, August 13. The win was his second of the season at Cleveland County Speedway this season. "The car was fast from the get go and we were hooked up all night" said Johnny Pursley after the race. Pursley sat on the pole setting a new track record of 17.664 during qualifying and was able to lead every lap in route to the win in the Carolina Clash 40 lap, $4,000 to win feature event.

When the green was dropped over the starting field, Johnny Pursley was able to motor out front from his pole position as the rest of the field was mixing it up for positions 3rd on back. The first caution flag flew on lap 8 when the 22 of Kyle Pierce spun on the inside of turn 2 and went off roading through the infield. Pierce then went pit side and never returned to the track.

Lap 19 was the next caution when the 27 of Brandon Ifft slowed coming down the front stretch and the 09 of Johnny Pursley barely escaped disaster trying to avoid the slowing car. During the caution, the 1 of Ricky Weeks pulled pit side with a broken rearend ending his night and pushing Weeks even further behind Dennis Franklin in points. Then the 32 of Jim Rasey pulled pit side with flat tire.

Lap 24 saw the 360 of Craig Shuffield bring out the caution on consecutive tries with a spin and a flat tire. During the second restart, the 18m of Jeff Smith while running 3rd and the 14 of David Taylor both received heavy frontend damage to the their cars with Jeff Smith having to go on the business end of the wrecker. On the 3rd try, the 3 of Ty Dillon lost control in front of the field while running 3rd causing a maylay in turn 4 which collected the likes of Jay Sessoms, Stephen Evans, David Taylor, Dean Bowen, and Chris Ferguson. Evans was the only car to not return to the track. The consecutive cautions were a huge break for the 21 of Luke Roffers who would move from 5th to 3rd after Smith and Dillon had trouble.

On the restart, Pursley was able to power away from the field leaving Dennis Franklin and Luke Roffers fighting for second place. The cars were able to drive away from the rest of the field as everyone else was fighting for the 4th spot. You could throw a blanket over the cars running 4th through 9th.

The top 3 cars would encounter heavy lap traffic with 5 laps to go but Pursley was on a rail and wouldn't be caught on this night. Dennis Franklin would end up in the 2nd position followed by a close Luke Roffers. Coming home in the 4th position was the 22 of Chris Ferguson who was able to race his way back through the field after the lap 24 fiasco in turn 4. Rounding out your top 5 was the 15 of Dean Bowen who also made his way through the field after the lap 24 wreck.

The big movers of the race were Chris Ferguson who advanced 8 spots to win the Safety Kleen Hard Charger Award. Jeff Cooke was able to motor around 7 cars during the main event. Also making big moves during the race were Luke Roffers, Dean Bowen, and Brian Ledbetter who all advanced 6 spots a piece during the feature event.

Carolina Clash Series
Cleveland County Speedway
August 13, 2010

1 09 Johnny Pursley Clover, SC $4,000
2 2 Dennis Franklin Gaffney, SC
3 21R Luke Roffers Concord, NC
4 22 Chris Ferguson Mount Holly, NC
5 15 Dean Bowen Whiteville, NC
6 99 Jeff Cooke Spartanburg, SC
7 84 Jay Sessoms Stanley, NC
8 1 Ty Dillon Lewisville, NC
9 93 Donald Bradsher Burlington, NC
10 14 David Taylor Fayetteville, NC
11 360 Craig Shuffield Fayetteville, NC
12 07 Brian Ledbetter Dallas, NC
13 08 Michael Marlowe Mt Olive, SC
14 92 Stephen Evans Tyner, NC
15 18w Jeff Smith Dallas, NC
16 8 Jim Rasey Southington, OH
17 27 Brandon Ifft Lake Wylie, SC
18 1 Ricky Weeks Rutherfordton, NC
19 28 Kyle Pierce Statesville, NC

Eckrich captures $10,000 Tornado Tuesday victory at West Liberty Raceway

Fuller sweeps the ASLMS Canada swing with $5K win
at Brockville Speedway

Bloomquist survives to score 'USA Nationals 100' at the Cedar Lake Speedway

Phillips completes sweep of MARS/UMP weekend at
Lake Ozark Speedway

Cook banks $3K in Southern Regional Racing Series win
at Cleveland Speedway

Moore races to MSRA Late Model checkers on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway

Kirby wins feature, Johnson claims LM championship at Santa Maria Speedway

Compton captures Carolina Clash/Volunteer Racing Series win at Wythe Raceway

Moyer sweeps the World of Outlaws Late Models return
to Shawano Speedway

Miley dominates the ASLMS 'Summer Sizzler' at Wayne County Speedway

Eckrich captures first Deery Brothers Summer Series
win at Farley Speedway

Richards ends drought with World of Outlaws Series win
at Eriez Speedway

Boen completes sweep with third straight NCRA Series victory at 81 Speedway

© 2005-10 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.