Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Clash Media
GASTONIA, N.C. (March 12) - Ricky Weeks was able to outrun 32 of the best super late models in the southeast Saturday evening at Carolina Speedway for the 11th annual Skyler Trull Memorial. "The Trulls are great people and winning this race means a lot to me" said Ricky Weeks in victory lane after the feature. "It was a hard fought win tonight with such good competition here".

Ross Bailes was able to beat out the 32 drivers in attendance Saturday evening to sit on the pole for the 40 lap feature race. Bailes would choose to start the event on the outside pole and used it to his advantage by taking the early lead. The first major caution came on lap 10 when six cars tangled in turn 1 with everybody but Furman Parton being able to resume the race. On lap 17, the Carolina Clash defending Rookie of the Year had problems and went pitside to never return. Defending Carolina Clash Series Champion, Dennis Franklin also had his own troubles during the feature bringing out three different cautions in a span of 10 laps.

The worst wreck of the night accorded on lap 28 restart when Jay Sessoms slammed the outside frontstretch wall and spun down the track into oncoming traffic collecting Mike Huey and Scott Shirey. All three cars were unable to continue.

During the last few laps, Weeks had been taking a look to the outside lane, dusting it off somewhat to make a move and plotting where he would take over the lead cars.

On lap 32, Petey Ivey would also slam the outside wall ending his night. On the restart, Weeks made his move passing Ferguson on the high side of turns 3 and 4 and on the very next lap, he would take over the lead in a true show of power passing Bailes in turn 4.

With Weeks running the high side, Ferguson decided it was time to make his move as he also followed in Weeks tracks and passed Bailes on the outside of turn 4 on lap 37. Ferguson was making ground up on Weeks but ran out of time.

Ricky Weeks would lead the final few laps in route to a special win. Chris Ferguson would cross the line in second followed by Ross Bailes, Mike Gault, and Luke Roffers rounding out your top five.

Final Rundown
Finish Driver Start Hometown
1. Ricky Weeks (8) Rutherfordton, NC
2. Chris Ferguson (5) Mt. Holly, NC
3. Ross Bailes (1) Clover, SC
4 Mike Gault (19) Gaffney, SC
5. Luke Roffers (2) Mooresville, NC
6. Dan Breuer (7) Troutman, NC
7. Tim Allen (11) Kannapolis, NC
8. Dustin Mitchell (4) Pine Level, NC
9. Chad Paxton (21) Troutman, NC
10. David Taylor (15) Fayetteville, NC
11. Dennis Franklin (14) Gaffney, SC
12. Craig Shuffield (24) Fayetteville, NC
13. Petey Ivey (9) Union, SC
14. Doug Sanders (18) Gastonia, NC
15. Kenny Compton (10) Bland, VA
16. Mike Huey (17) Chester, SC
17. Jay Sessoms (3) Stanley, NC
18. Scott Shirey (22) Swansea, SC
19. Johnny Stovall (20) Madison, NC
20. Dean Bowen (6) Whiteville, NC
21. Furman Parton (12) Union Mills, NC
22. Chris Meadows (13) Crab Orchard, WV
23. Jeff Smith (23) Dallas, NC
24. Brent Robinson (16) Smithville, VA

Heat race #1 (Top 5 Transfer) Tim Allen, Chris Meadows, David Taylor, Mike Huey, Mike Gault, Harold Redman, Chad Paxton, Robbie Bailey, Arlene Pittman, Jimmy McCormick, Jeff Smith.

Heat race #2 (Top 5 Transfer) Furman Parton, Dennis Franklin, Brent Robinson, Doug Sanders, Johnny Stovall, Scott Shirey, Craig Shuffield, Travis Yow, Justin Labonte, Brian Ledbetter, Michael Marlowe.

B Main (Top 2 Transfer) Chad Paxton, Scott Shirey, Justin Labonte, Travis Yow, Arlene Pittman, Jeff Smith, Harold Redman, Robbie Bailey, Brian Ledbetter, Jimmy McCormick, Craig Shuffield, Michael Marlowe.

XS Power Racing Batteries Fastest Qualifier- Ross Bailes
Collins Signs First Man Out Award- Chris Meadows
R2C Performance Heat Race Winners- Tim Allen and Furman Parton
Comp Cams Feature Winner- Ricky Weeks
Keizer Wheels Runner up Award- Chris Ferguson
Shell Racing Solutions 3rd place finisher- Ross Bailes
ATL Fuel Cells 4th place finisher- Mike Gault
Cool Shirts Top 5- Ricky Weeks, Chris Ferguson, Ross Bailes, Mike Gault, & Luke Roffers
NASCAR Technical Institute 10th place finisher- David Taylor
FK Rod Ends Last Car Running Award- David Taylor
Ohlins Shocks Last but not Least Award- Brent Robinson
Safety Kleen Hard Charger of the Race- Mike Gault
Klotz Lubricants Rookie of the Race- Chad Paxton
Klotz Lubricants Hard Luck Award- Jeff Smith
Klotz Lubricants 15th place finisher- Kenny Compton Jr.

Upcoming Carolina Clash Events
March 26 Lancaster Speedway Lancaster, SC $4,000 to win
April 2 Fayetteville Motor Speedway Fayetteville, NC $4,000 to win
(Ed Gibbons Memorial)
April 15 Cleveland County Speedway Lawndale, NC $4,000 to win
April 16 Friendship Speedway Elkin, NC $4,000 to win

Doar eyes pursuit of 2011 World of Outlaws Late Model Rookie of the Year Award

Vaught takes Late Model win, Phillips tops Modifieds at Texas Motor Speedway

Runner-up for McCool in the Pelican 100; Super Bowl of Racing is this weekend

Madden and Davenport take Modoc 100 feature wins at Modoc Speedway

Madrid scores Total Seal Late Model Series win at Canyon Speedway Park

The Flyin' Welshan knocks out Crate LM field in opener
at Boyd's Speedway

Johnson nabs $10K in 14th Annual 'Bama Bash win at Green Valley Speedway

Drake captures Late Model feature finale in the 'Copper On Dirt' at USA Raceway

MARS kicks off 2011 season at 'Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic' in Clarksville

Vosbergen reclaims 'King of the Ring' crown at Albany's Attwell Park Speedway

Bloomquist sweeps World of Outlaws events at DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH

Bartels drives to first night victory in Copper On Dirt action at USA Raceway

Moyer adds to his DIRTcar Nationals success with $10K feature win at Volusia

© 2005-11 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.