Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Alex Cummings
FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. (April 2) - Luke Roffers was able to motor his way to an impressive second Carolina Clash win at the Ed Gibbons Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway beating out 31 of the best super late model drivers in the southeast from 4 different states. "I really want to thank my sponsors including Wolfpack Racing, Cal Les 2 Trucking, Wayne Roffers Trucking, Chad Roffers Trucking, Roffers Wildlife Studio, and Wisconsin Lock & Load," said Roffers after the race. "I also want to thank my crew for their hard work and determination along with wishing my Dad a happy birthday. This is a great present for him on his birthday."

The hometown boy Dustin Mitchell and West Virginia native Chris Meadows led the star studded field of 24 cars to the green flag after qualifying first and second. A massive pileup would ensue in turn 2 when six cars would tangle bringing out the red flag. Unfortunately, Ray Tucker and Chris Blackwell were unable to continue due to the extensive damage on both cars.

When the green was shown again, the fans in the stands were treated to a spectacular show with two wide racing taking place for the next six laps from second place on back with Mitchell leading. Two distinct grooves had shown up, one really low and one really high. Jeff Smith took to the high side and used it to his advantage in route to his six place finish after starting the event in the 23rd position, an increase of 17 positions on the race track. "I consider tonight pretty much a win by advancing 17 positions in the feature," said Jeff Smith after the race. "My car was able to run high or low and I want to thank my crew for all of their hard work tonight."

Then on lap 7, heading down the backstretch, Roffers made his move on the inside of Mitchell going into turn 3 and made the pass. Roffers would then checkout on the field taking nearly a full straightaway lead in just a handful of laps. The race was now on for second through tenth as you could throw a blanket over those nine cars as they were running either nose to tail or side by side. Every lap saw a position change between one of the drivers in the top 10 during the rest of the race.

Lap 17 saw the caution wave when Tim Allen stopped on the backstretch after a mechanical failure. Lap 19 saw Travis Hair slow in turn 3 ending his night. The final caution waved on lap 21 when Kenny Compton Jr. looped his car in turn 2.

This setup one of the wildest finishes in Carolina Clash history as a nineteen lap shootout would ensue. Roffers took his car to the inside of the track and ran away with the lead as the top fifteen cars were running nose to tail, jockeying for position and dicing it up. On lap 32, Mike Gault would make a power move around Brent Robinson for the fourth position then two laps later, Gault made a move to the outside passing Dean Bowen for third. Then on lap 35, Bowen would get crossed up in turn 2 allowing three cars past.

Lanigan outruns Richards for World of Outlaws 'Sunshine 50' win at Ocala Speedway

Weather related Track and Series cancellations for weekend of March 25-27

Lanigan banks $20K World of Outlaws 'Cash Cow 100' win at Columbus Speedway

Carrier Jr earns $5K in 35th Annual Spring 50 victory at Florence Speedway

Madden melts the competition for 'Spring Thaw' victory at Volunteer Speedway

Bagley nails his first SUPR Late Model win of the year
at USA Speedway

Parker Jr scores Total Seal Late Model Series feature
win at USA Raceway

Knowles nabs impressive flag to flag feature victory at Cleveland Speedway

Clanton railz Southern All Stars 'Shamrock' Saturday
at Cleveland Speedway

Davenport beats Bloomquist in Ultimate 'March Madness' at Cherokee Speedway

Moyer Jr captures SRRS 'Icebreaker' feature win at Tennessee Nat'l Raceway

Erb Jr caps Tuckasee Toilet Bowl weekend with win at Clarksville Speedway

Johnson wins Friday night of Tuckasee Toilet Bowl at Clarksville Speedway

As the cars crossed the finish line to take the checkers, the finish resembled what NASCAR fans would normally see at a restrictor plate race with the cars coming across in a large group, two and three wide for positions second on back. When the dust settled, Roffers was the winner taking home the $4,000 check with Dustin Mitchell in 2nd, Mike Gault 3rd, Brent Robinson 4th, and Scott Autry 5th.

Travis Yow began the night with a great qualifying run putting him in the eighth starting position and locking him into the feature. Yow would run in the top 10 for the most of the night but fell back to eleventh place where he would finish towards the end of the race. With the eleventh place run, Yow earned the Klotz Lubricants Rookie of the Race Award for his accomplishments.

Carolina Clash Super Late Models

1. Luke Roffers (3) Concord, NC
2. Dustin Mitchell (1) Pine Level, NC
3. Mike Gault (6) Gaffney, SC
4 Brent Robinson (7) Smithville, VA
5. Scott Autry (11) Autryville, NC
6. Jeff Smith (23) Dallas, NC
7. Dean Bowen (5) Whiteville, NC
8. Shawn Beasley (4) Lumber Bridge, NC
9. Chris Meadows (2) Beckley, WV
10. Johnny Pursley (10) Clover, SC
11. Travis Yow (8) Fayetteville, NC
12. Dennis Franklin (12) Gaffney, SC
13. Chad Paxton (17) Troutman, NC
14. Craig Shuffield (19) Fayetteville, NC
15. Kenny Compton (9) Bland, VA
16. Scott Neighbors (16) Cameron, NC
17. David Taylor (24) Fayetteville, NC
18. Justin Labonte (21) Trinity, NC
19. Harold Redman Jr. (22) Charleston, WVA
20. Dale Hammond (18) Nichols, SC
21. Travis Hair (20) Fayetteville, NC
22. Tim Allen (14) Kannapolis, NC
23. Chris Blackwell (13) Fayetteville, NC
24. Ray Tucker (15) Greensboro, NC
Hard Charger of the Race: (10 pts bonus) - Jeff Smith
Points Provisional Starters: Jeff Smith, David Taylor
Fastest Qualifier: Dustin Mitchell 17.602

Heat race #1 (Top 5 Transfer) Scott Autry, Chris Blackwell, Ray Tucker, Chad Paxton, Craig Shuffield, David Taylor, Harold Redman Jr., Robbie Bailey, Mike Evock, Jeff Smith, Mike Huey
Heat race #2 (Top 5 Transfer) Dennis Franklin, Tim Allen, Scott Neighbors, Dale Hammond, Travis Hair, Justin Labonte, Scott Shirey, Michael Marlowe, Brandon Hux, Johnny Stovall
B Main (Top 2 Transfer) Justin Labonte, Harold Redman Jr., Scott Shirey, Robbie Bailey, Michael Marlowe, Mike Evoch, Brandon Hux, David Taylor, Jeff Smith, Mike Huey

Comp Cams Feature Winner- Luke Roffers
Keizer Wheels Runner Up Award- Dustin Mitchell
Shell Racing Solutions 3rd place- Mike Gault
ATL Fuel Cells 4th place- Brent Robinson
Cool Shirts Top 5- Roffers, Mitchell, Gault, Robinson, and Scott Autry
RF Composites 6th Place- Jeff Smith
NASCAR Technical Institute 10th place- Johnny Pursley
Klotz 15th place- Kenny Compton Jr.
Klotz Hard Luck- Chris Blackwell
Klotz Rookie of the Race- Travis Yow
Safety Kleen Hard Charger- Jeff Smith
Ohlins Shocks Last but not Least Award - Ray Tucker
R2C Performance Heat Race Winners- Dennis Franklin and Scott Autry
XS Power Racing Batteries Fastest Qualifier- Dustin Mitchell

Upcoming Carolina Clash Events
April 9 Lancaster Speedway Lancaster , SC $4,000 to win
April 15 Cleveland County Speedway Lawndale, NC $4,000 to win
April 16 Friendship Speedway Elkin, NC $4,000 to win

© 2005-11   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.