Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Bob Appleget
CHATSWORTH, Ga. (August 15) - Chip Brindle took the top prize in the first race of the Top Tracks Challenge Series Georgia/Tennessee double header Friday night at North Georgia Speedway. Brindle, who races out of his shops in Chatsworth, GA is no stranger to North Georgia Speedway and he used his home field advantage to come from mid pack to take the win.

As the laps wound down in the 35-lap feature Rick Hixson was leading early leader Jeff Smith, Todd Morrow, Brindle and Jeff Fields. On lap 28 Brindle began to make his assault on the leaders when he moved past Morrow for third. On the next lap he passed Smith to take second and began to stalk leader Hixson. With five laps to go Hixson had a flat tire and had to go to the pits, which put Brindle in the lead. For the remaining five laps Brindle held off Smith, Morrow, Fields and John Ownbey for the win.

At the drop of the green flag Jeff Smith took the lead with Hixson, Fields, Morrow and Brian Burke in tow. As Hixson kept the pressure on Smith, Morrow would move past Fields for third on the eighth lap. While the top five stabilized Brindle was moving toward the front. On lap 21 Hixson would take the point from Smith and three laps later Brindle would move into the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Burke, Phillip Anderson, Mike Head, Chris Mayse, and Allen Green. David Tindell won the consolation race.

In Late Model action Tony Knowles dominated the event as he took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back, leading all 30 laps for the victory. Gary McPherson ran second keeping Knowles honest for all 30 laps. Cody Barnett ran and finished third. Don Jenkins came from deep in the pack to finish fourth and Bill Elliott came from mid-pack to finish fifth.

McPherson's second place finish was enough for the Dalton driver to win his 16th Late Model track championship at North Georgia Speedway. Jake Knowles, who was second to McPherson in the point race, had problems in hot laps and did not start the feature. Murphy, NC Late Model driver Preston Graves flipped his entry during qualifying. He was not hurt in the incident.

In Hobby action point leader Greg Ledford and Tim Ford, who were one and two in the season point battle finished one two in the feature with Ledford taking the win and the championship. Ford would settle for second, with Robert Elkins third, Greg Brown fourth and Jeff Kile fifth.

Grady Stokes took the Pony feature win over a three car field. Ralph Langston finished second and Franklin Burke third. Jimmy Whaley had problems and did not start the feature. Langston trailed Stokes by 48 points for the Pony Championship going into the event. Their night's one two finish was how they would finish in the points.

Zack Pilcher wired the Econo Bomber field to take the win over Daniel Bremam. On lap four Tom Peters Sr. would move past John Morrison to take third and relegate Morrison to a fourth place finish. Justin Thomas would round out the top five.

Tom Peters Sr. took a commanding point lead into the final race and would win the championship over Tom Darby. John Morrison had a shot at overtaking Darby for second but needed more than a two position advantage in the final feature. Darby finished sixth.

This concludes the regular racing season at North Georgia Speedway. There will be a number of specials in October and November plus a chance of some races being added to the schedule. Mark your calendars and check the schedule on to make sure you don't miss any of the action.

Located in Chatsworth, Ga. North Georgia Speedway is a third-mile clay oval featuring dirt track racing at it's best from March to November. The track address is 300 N. Georgia Rd. Chatsworth, Ga. 30705. Coming south on I-75 take Hwy. 52 (Exit 333) east approx. 11 miles to Hwy. 225. Go south on 225 approx. six miles. Track is on the right. Coming north on I-75 take Hwy. 225 (Exit 317) north 13 miles. Track is on your left. For more information including area motels go to

Top Tracks Challenge Series Final Rundown
1 38 Chip Brindle Chatsworth GA
2 00 Jeff Smith Villanow GA
3 1 Todd Morros Old Fort TN
4 16 Jeffery Fields Aragon GA
5 48 John Ownbey
6 39 Brian Burke Dalton GA
7 9 Phillip Anderson
8 84 Mike Head Ellenwood GA
9 22 Chris Mayse
10 41 Allen Green Dalton GA
11 73 Jamie Parker TalkingRock GA
12 55 J.J. Nye Ballground GA
13 22 Allen Bremen
14 51 Randy Dillard Epworth GA
15 87 Chris Fennell Dallas GA
16 16 Bill Peters
17 17 Randy Hill Dalton GA
18 34 Bob Gibby Douglasville GA
19 19 John Parker Chatsworth GA
20 31 Eric Wilson Toccoa GA
21 9 Casey Roderick
22 16 Rick Hixson Soddy Daisy TN
23 B4 Brian Jackson Chatsworth GA

Miller in a thriller in taking $50,000 'North/South 100' win at Florence Speedway

Plessinger wins Shorty Bowers/Bull Durham race at Hagerstown Speedway

Madden smokes field in 29th Annual 'USA 100' at Virginia Motor Speedway

Weaver grabs Southern Regional Racing Series win at Crossville Raceway

Kerr captures Advance Auto Parts Thunder Series win at Boyd's Speedway

DeFrance gets Deery victory after Spaw DQ at Hawkeye Downs Speedway

Moyer outduels Birkhofer for $10,000 feature win at West Liberty Raceway

Dohm wins in Ufo Late Model/Earl Hill Memorial at Tyler County Speedway

Hartman takes second Lucas Oil Late Model win at Hagerstown Speedway

Marlar grabs My Old Kentucky Home Shootout win at Bluegrass Speedway

Pearson Jr scores Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 'Winchester Shootout'

Blair rockets to John Bradshaw Memorial victory at Ponderosa Speedway

Birkhofer overtakes Lanigan for $41,419 Firecracker 100 victory at Lernerville

Francis sets standard with World of Outlaws win at Eriez Speedway

Wallace scores $2,000 DLRA/MSRA Challenge victory at Monett Speedway

© 2008   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.