Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Late Model Mark
PHENIX CITY, Ala. (November 8) - Jonathan Davenport raced to his biggest victory of his career Sunday night at the National 100 at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City. This 100 lap race featured great battles thru the pack and for the lead that had the big crowd on their feet. The track had been re-worked before the feature that transformed a hard and rubbered-up surface to fast and racy. Davenport took the lead from the pole and never looked back even though the action behind him was fast and furious. The show of the race was Scott Bloomquist who started at the back of the field after arriving on race day from Charlotte. Bloomquist won his B-Main and then mowed thru the pack like a surgeon and a man on a mission. A number of yellows for spins, wrecks, and one spectacular barrel-roll helped Bloomer in his march to the front. With a black strip developing on the rim of this fast high-banked track, Bloomquist went to the middle and one-by-one past cars in the top 5 and into second. At various points during the last 30 laps Davenport had Bloomquist all over him to the delight of the crowd. At one point Davenport was passed by the Team Zero driver only to be saved by a yellow flag. With 10 laps remaining Bloomquist gave all he had in an attempt to catch Davenport and was on his bumper with 1 lap to go but came up short. Davenport got the win, his biggest ever in his young career and cashed the giant check, a cool $20,000 dollars. In victory lane Davenport was very humbled in appreciation for this big win against Dirt Late Model racing's biggest star. East Alabama Motor Speedway's National 100 is indeed a very special race to win in the Southeast, a fact not lost on this young driver.

1. Jonathan Davenport
2. Scott Bloomquist
3. William Thomas
4. Dennis Erb
5. Lee Sutton
6. Terrance Nowell
7. Jake Knowles
8. Rick Rodgers
9. Jason McBride
10. Devin Jones
11. Billy Ogle
12. Davy Davis
13. Steven Endicott
14. Larry Boutwell
15. Mike Nasworthy
16. Stacy Holmes
17. Jack Pennington
18. Randle Chupp
19. Casey Roberts
20. Brian Reese
21. Ricky Williams
22. James Ward
23. Vic Hill
24. Lavon Sparks
25. Mark Sims

Merrill scores Halloween 2009 Fright Night feature at the Tri-State Speedway

Hogge clinches Western Allstars championship in style at Kings Speedway

Cook captures $3,000 Road to 'Dega 40 victory at Green Valley Speedway

Cook scores second straight victory on Friday at the Talladega Short Track

Hollingsworth upsets stellar field in 15th Fall Classic at Whynot Motorsports Park

Eckert collects $10,000 Octoberfest win on Sunday at Hagerstown Speedway

Ogle caps '09 Championship season with TTDCS victory
at Boyd's Speedway

Lloyd grabs UDLMCS Fall Championship feature at Volusia Speedway Park

Phillips takes third 'Larry Phillips Memorial' victory at the Springfield Raceway

McDowell wins 'Clash Bash', Smith wins Carolina Clash crown at 311 Fastrak

Anderson takes MLRA final, Purkey Series Champion at Nevada Speedway

Mars captures Dirt Track World Championship at Lawrenceburg Speedway

Hogge grabs sixth Western Allstars victory of 2009 at Chowchilla Speedway

© 2005-09 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.