Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Moyer sweeps the World of Outlaws Late Models return
to Shawano Speedway

Miley dominates the ASLMS 'Summer Sizzler' at Wayne County Speedway

Eckrich captures first Deery Brothers Summer Series
win at Farley Speedway

Richards ends drought with World of Outlaws Series win
at Eriez Speedway

Boen completes sweep with third straight NCRA Series victory at 81 Speedway

Schlieper scores Lucas Oil Late Model Series win at Hagerstown Speedway

Lanigan gets third WoOLMS feature win in four starts at Muskingum Co. Speedway

Lee cashes $3,000 NASRA Late Model win at Lake Cumberland Speedway

Johnson captures Mike Head Jr Memorial victory at the Talladega Short Track

Boen captures NCRA/CLMA Shootout win at the Dodge City Raceway Park

Lanigan steals Thursday night World of Outlaws Series win at Sharon Speedway

Bloomquist takes sixth Lucas Oil Late Model victory at Utica-Rome Speedway

Knollinger is eighth different Fastrak NE Series winner at Sharon Speedway

Brian Garrison
ELDON, Mo. (August 7) - Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO leads all 35 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, MO and sweeps the weekend with the MARS / UMP Challenge. Phillips picks up $3,000 for his efforts and records his series best seventh feature win of the 2010 season.

Phillips had the field covered with his only serious challenge coming from Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, IL. Burgtorf started outside of row two, but used a series of restarts to quickly work his way up to the leader. Burgtorf then used the high side of turns three and four to catch Phillips, but Phillips would hold his line and hold off the repeated attempts by Burgtorf. Mark Burgtorf would finish second.

After starting eighth, Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, MO finished third and recorded his best finish of the year with the MARS series. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, KS started the evening on just seven cylinders, but raced his way from his thirteenth starting position to fourth.

Jeremy Payne of Springfield, MO ran second to Phillips for the first half of the race, but would jump the cushion in turn two, allowing McCormick and Purkey to go by. Payne would try several times to regain the lost positions, but settled for fifth.

Phillips also records his series leading 74th career win with the MARS series.

The MARS DIRTcar Series returns to action next Friday August 13th at Outlaw Motor Speedway in Oktaha, OK.

A Feature Results (30 cars): 1) Terry Phillips 2) Mark Burgtorf 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Al Purkey 5) Jeremy Payne 6) Dave Eckrich 7) Brandon Sheppard 8) Frank Heckencast 9) Mark Voigt 10) Eric Turner 11) Tony Jackson Jr. 12) Denny Eckrich 13) Jason McBride 14) Matt Furman 15) Dustin Mooneyham 16) Danny Haynes 17) Darrell Mooneyham 18) Ricky Frankel 19) Justin Asplin 20) Chris Fetter 21) Leroy Johnson 22) Gary Christian

Heat #1 Results: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Brandon McCormick 3) Brandon Sheppard 4) Denny Eckrich 5) Jason McBride 6) Mike Hammerle 7) Rylan Long 8) John Driskill

Heat #2 Results: 1) Mark Burgtorf 2) Frank Heckencast 3) Eric Turner 4) Dustin Mooneyham 5) Danny Haynes 6) Chris Fetter 7) Dwight Niehoff 8) Rob Starky

Heat #3 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Mark Voigt 3) Justin Asplin 4) Al Purkey 5) Ricky Frankel 6) Bobby Pierce 7) Justin Wells
Heat #4 Results: 1) Dave Eckrich 2) Matt Furman 3) Gary Christian 4) Tony Jackson Jr. 5) Darrell Mooneyham 6) Randy Zimmerman 7) Leroy Johnson

B Feature #1 transfers: Jason McBride, Tony Jackson Jr.
B Feature #2 transfers: Ricky Frankel, Danny Haynes

© 2005-10   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.