Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Miller in a thriller in taking $50,000 'North/South 100' win at Florence Speedway

Plessinger wins Shorty Bowers/Bull Durham race at Hagerstown Speedway

Madden smokes field in 29th Annual 'USA 100' at Virginia Motor Speedway

Weaver grabs Southern Regional Racing Series win at Crossville Raceway

Kerr captures Advance Auto Parts Thunder Series win at Boyd's Speedway

DeFrance gets Deery victory after Spaw DQ at Hawkeye Downs Speedway

Moyer outduels Birkhofer for $10,000 feature win at West Liberty Raceway

Dohm wins in Ufo Late Model/Earl Hill Memorial at Tyler County Speedway

Hartman takes second Lucas Oil Late Model win at Hagerstown Speedway

Marlar grabs My Old Kentucky Home Shootout win at Bluegrass Speedway

Pearson Jr scores Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 'Winchester Shootout'

Blair rockets to John Bradshaw Memorial victory at Ponderosa Speedway

Birkhofer overtakes Lanigan for $41,419 Firecracker 100 victory at Lernerville

Francis sets standard with World of Outlaws win at Eriez Speedway

Wallace scores $2,000 DLRA/MSRA Challenge victory at Monett Speedway

Dan Robinson
SEDALIA, Mo. (August 17) - Terry Phillips roared past teammate Jeremy Payne on lap 11 and never looked back to claim the win in the O'Reilly MLRA portion of the Missouri State Fair Championships at the historic Sedalia State Fair Speedway. Payne would maintain the second spot in the final rundown with Omaha, Nebraska veteran John Anderson settling for third. 5-time MLRA Champion Al Purkey captured the fourth spot, while Jeremy "Smackdown" Grady rounded out the top 5.

Phillips was the class of the field all night as he charged from his fifth row starting position in his heat to finish second and garner an outside front row starting position for the feature. Phillip's young protege, Payne also started outside the fifth row in his heat but managed to squeak by Carter Lake, Iowa's Mike Collins to win his heat and occupy the pole for the 30 lap Late Model Main Event by virtue of the passing points system utilized by the O'Reilly MLRA. Payne would set the early pace as Phillips and Anderson followed closely behind. A couple of early cautions stacked the field but Payne was able to pull away on each restart until Phillips rocketed by in his Andy's Frozen Custard, Don Babb Motorsports, Hatfield Racing Engines GRT coming out of turn two on lap 11.

Payne continued to ride in the second spot with Anderson in tow, but could gain no ground on Phillips. A long green flag run allowed Phillips to slice and dice through the lap traffic putting many very good race cars a lap down. A caution on lap 28 allowed the field one final chance with Payne and Anderson bunched up on Phillip's bumper on the restart, but it was not to be on this night as Phillips cruised to the win. Al Purkey, driving a Bill Koons owned car sporting his familiar #33 had a great run advancing from his ninth starting position to finish in fourth, while Story City, Iowa's Jeremy Grady also had an impressive run finishing in the fifth spot. Veteran Nebraska driver Joe Kosiski wheeled his familiar red #53 to the sixth position in the final rundown while Adrian, Missouri's David Turner captured the seventh spot. Jason "Bodee" Bodenhamer was eighth, while Andrew McKay, all the way from Minneapolis, Minnesota came home in ninth. Lancaster, Missouri's Chris Smyser rounded out the Top 10.

Heat Race Winners were David Turner, John Anderson, Jeremy Payne, and Jeremy Grady. Marine, Illinois' Mark Voigt captured the win the B-Main to advance to the main event. Full Results are listed below.

The next event for the O'Reilly MLRA presented by Lucas Oil will be at the beautiful Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri next Saturday night August 23rd. The Pitt's Home's A-Modifieds will also be in action as the MLRA makes it's fifth and final appearance of the season at the Forrest Lucas owned facility. For more information please visit or call the track office at (417) 282-5984.

MLRA Results 8/17/2008
A Feature:1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 3. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 4. Al Purkey (Coffeyville, KS), 5. Jeremy Grady (Story City, IA), 6. Joe Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 7. David Turner (Adrian, MO), 8. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 9. Andrew McKay (Minneapolis, MN), 10. Chris Smyser (Lancaster, MO), 11. J.D. Hubert (Cross Timbers, MO), 12. Mike Collins (Carter Lake, IA), 13. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 14. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 15. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 16. Larry Clawson (N Kansas City, MO), 17. Chris Hawkins (Neosho, MO), 18. Reid Millard (Jefferson City, MO), 19. Ricky Frankel (Quincy, IL), 20. Mark Voigt (Marine, IL), 21. Shad Badder (Oak Grove, MO), 22. Steve Johnson (Joplin, MO), 23. Joe Walkenhorst (Lees Summit, MO), 24. Bob King (Independence, MO),

B Feature:1. Mark Voigt (Marine, IL), 2. Joe Walkenhorst (Lees Summit, MO), 3. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 4. Steve Johnson (Joplin, MO), 5. Chris Hawkins (Neosho, MO), 6. Bob King (Independence, MO), 7. Aaron Seabaugh (Freeman, MO), 8. James Rutledge (California, MO), 9. Reid Millard (Jefferson City, MO), 10. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 11. Scott Drake (Webb City, MO), 12. Jeremy Watts (Independence, MO), 13. Bob Test (Jefferson City, MO), 14. Richard Weber (Kirksville, MO), 15. Larry Jones (Eldorado Springs, MO), 16. Larry Moon (Sedalia, MO), 17. John Farmer (Clinton, MO), 18. Shorty Acker (Windsor, MO), 19. Donnie Gemes (Warsaw, MO),

Heat 1:1. David Turner (Adrian, MO), 2. Andrew McKay (Minneapolis, MN), 3. J.D. Hubert (Cross Timbers, MO), 4. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 5. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 6. Bob King (Independence, MO), 7. Aaron Seabaugh (Freeman, MO), 8. Randy McGraw (Marshall, MO), 9. Larry Moon (Sedalia, MO), 10. Donnie Gemes (Warsaw, MO),

Heat 2:1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Al Purkey (Coffeyville, KS), 4. Chris Smyser (Lancaster, MO), 5. Mark Voigt (Marine, IL), 6. Chris Hawkins (Neosho, MO), 7. Reid Millard (Jefferson City, MO), 8. Bob Test (Jefferson City, MO), 9. David Barker (Kingsville, MO), 10. Scott Drake (Webb City, MO),

Heat 3:1. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 2. Mike Collins (Carter Lake, IA), 3. Joe Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 4. Shad Badder (Oak Grove, MO), 5. Steve Johnson (Joplin, MO), 6. Joe Walkenhorst (Lees Summit, MO), 7. Richard Weber (Kirksville, MO), 8. Shorty Acker (Windsor, MO), 9. Tommy Elston (Keokuk, IA), 10. Kevin Kaiser (Cole Camp, MO),

Heat 4:1. Jeremy Grady (Story City, IA), 2. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 3. Ricky Frankel (Quincy, IL), 4. Larry Clawson (N Kansas City, MO), 5. James Rutledge (California, MO), 6. Jeremy Watts (Independence, MO), 7. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 8. Larry Jones (Eldorado Springs, MO), 9. John Farmer (Clinton, MO),

The O'Reilly MLRA (Midwest Latemodel Racing Association) presented by Lucas Oil sanctions regional Super Dirt Late Model touring series events in Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, and Iowa.

For all the latest news and information on the O'Reilly MLRA please visit us on the web at or by calling the series office at (816) 650-5063 or (816) 305-6572.

The O'Reilly MLRA would like to thank the sponsors of the 2008 Thunder Tour including O'Reilly Auto Parts, Midwest Walnut, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Race Tires, Hatfield Racing Engines, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Adrian Bank, Afco, GRT Race Cars, The Driveline Shop, Taylor Cable Products, Impact Racing Products, Sunoco Race Fuels, Weld Wheels, Bodee's Race Bodies, Outpace Racing Products, Duralite Racing Wheels, Impact Signs and Lighting, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, Schoenfeld Headers, Kluhsman Racing Components, Performance Race Bodies, ATL Fuel Cells, Shepherd of the Hills Entertainment

© 2008   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.