Dirt Late Model
National Headlines


Roberts captures Southern
All Stars main event win at Lavonia Speedway

Casebolt outguns O'Neal for $3,000 Late Model victory
at Florence Speedway

Anderson melts competition at MLRA 'Spring Melt Down' at I-80 Speedway

Smith takes inaugural Clash South Tour win at Lancaster Motor Speedway

Cook collects SRRS Super Late Model win at the North Georgia Speedway

Kid Rocket grabs second straight season opener at Hagerstown Speedway

Francis busts out with World of Outlaws Late Model win
at Lone Star Speedway

Davenport collects $25,000 Crate Nationals victory at
Green Valley Speedway

Shirley scores first Southern Regional Racing Series win
at Clarksville Speedway

Owens routs field in winning 13th 'Indiana Icebreaker' at Brownstown Speedway

Eckert rumbles flag to flag in WoOLMS Lone Star 50 win
at Battleground Speedway

O'Neal banks $5,000 victory
in the 34th Annual Spring 50 at Florence Speedway

Davenport collects $10,000 SAS Shamrock victory at Cleveland Speedway

Ben Shelton
BEEBE, Ark. (April 9) - After surviving a lap one melee and an early battle with Dane Dacus, Billy Moyer Jr. took the lead on the second circuit and never looked back en route to the $2,000 feature win on Friday night in the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model season opener at Beebe Speedway in Beebe, Arkansas.

Twenty-three Super Late Models, representing four states, entered the 2010 season opener for the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour. After accumulating the most passing points in heat race action, it was Lakeland, Tennessee's Dane Dacus, who earned the JFR Graphic Pole Qualifier Award for the main event. Joining Dacus on the front row for the 30 lap feature was Jon Kirby from Russellville, Arkansas.

As the field headed into turn one on the first lap, Dacus held a narrow advantage over Kirby, Moyer Jr., and Christian. However, disaster would strike as Kirby and Dacus made contact in the middle of turns one and two, causing the pair to spin in front of the field. Several other cars were caught in the accident including Jack Sullivan, Wendell Wallace, Bill Frye, and Joey Mack. All of the cars with the exception of Kirby, who received heavy front end damage, were able to continue.

With a blocked track due to the incident COMP Cams MSRA officials decided to have a complete double file restart with all drivers retaining their original starting position, so Dacus reassumed his position at the front of the field as Billy Moyer Jr. joined him on the front row. The second attempt to get the race underway would go much better as Dacus and Moyer Jr. battled side by side for the lead with Christian, Sullivan, and Wallace in tow. Dacus led the first lap before Moyer Jr. inched ahead for the lead as the field completed the second lap.

Over the next few laps Moyer Jr. would extend his advantage to five car lengths as the leaders began to catch the tail of the field. By lap 12 Moyer Jr. was working on heavy lapped traffic as he struggled to put Austin Rettig down a lap. Moyer Jr.'s difficulty in lapped traffic allowed Dacus to close in on his rear decklid as the pair raced nose-to-tail through traffic.

On lap 17 Moyer Jr. would finally get past Rettig as he began to lap cars at will, which allowed him to pull away from Dacus. Moyer Jr. would go on to lead the final 13 laps to take the win over Dane Dacus, Gary Christian, Jack Sullivan, and Wendell Wallace as he picked up his third career COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model win.

Heat races were won by Dane Dacus, Gary Christian, Jon Kirby, and Billy Moyer Jr. The b-main event was won by Charlie Cole.

Bill Frye was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after advancing from his 13th starting spot to an 8th place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Jon Kirby after his lap one troubles brought his night to a disappointing, early end.

The COMP Cams Top Performer was Billy Moyer Jr.

The COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour will invade Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas on Saturday, April 10th in the Bartlett Hardwood Floor Service Spring Fling 40. Hot laps are slated for 6:30pm with racing action at 7:30pm. For more information, please visit www.RiversideInternationalSpeedway.com .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model Series, please visit www.MSRADirt.com .

COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models - April 9th, 2010
Beebe Speedway (Beebe, AR)

Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
3. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, OK)
4. Jack Sullivan (Greenbriar, AR)
5. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)
6. Joey Mack (Benton, MO)
7. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
8. Bill Frye (Greenbriar, AR)
9. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
10. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
11. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
12. Stacey Taylor (Jacksonville, AR)
13. Charlie Cole (Wynne, AR)
14. Terry Henson (North Little Rock, AR)
15. Brandon Smith (Flora, AR)
16. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie, MO)
17. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO)
18. Joseph Long (North Little Rock, AR)
19. Shane Stephens (Arlington, TN)
20. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)

DNS: Wesley Crutchfield, Eddie Provence, Stormy Derryberry
Entries: 23 (Representing Four States)
Heat Winners: Gary Christian, Dane Dacus, Jon Kirby, Billy Moyer Jr.
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Dane Dacus
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Jon Kirby
Provisional: Austin Rettig
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Bill Frye (13th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Cautions: 1
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Dane Dacus (1), Billy Moyer Jr. (2-30)

© 2005-10 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.