Dirt Late Model
National Headlines


Ben Shelton
STERLINGTON, La. (May 7) - Bill Frye picked up his first win of the year on Friday night at USA Speedway in Sterlington, Louisiana in front of a capacity crowd in the $2,000 to win, COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model sanctioned event.

A stellar field of 34 Super Late Models, representing seven states entered the event, and after winning his heat race from the fifth starting spot, Rob Litton was the JFR Graphics pole qualifier. He was flanked to his outside for the 30 lap event by Kevin Sitton from Baytown, Texas. At the onset of the feature Litton bolted to the lead with Sitton, Bill Frye, Cory Daugherty, and Clay Fisher in pursuit.

On the second circuit Frye and Fisher slipped by Sitton to take possession of the second and third positions respectfully. Frye would begin to apply pressure to Litton for the top spot, and would take over the lead exiting turn two on the seventh circuit.

As Frye began to slip away from the field, Kyle Cummings moved up to the third spot by the ninth lap. The first caution of the event flew on lap 15 as Jeremy Glasgow was spun in turn four. At the time of the caution the top five running order consisted of Frye, Litton, Cummings, Jeff Floyd, and Clay Fisher.

On the restart Frye once again slipped away from the field as much of the field headed to the low side of the oval. Two laps later on the 17th circuit the caution would wave as Litton and Cummings got together exiting turn two. Both drivers would be able to continue, but were sent to the tail of the pack.

The next pair of attempts at a restart would see cautions negate the green flag. The third attempt to get the race back underway would be successful as Frye motored away from the field. Most of the field was content to hug the low line, but Kenny Merchant mounted a charge on the high side from deep in the field and would reach the third spot with a few laps remaining in the event. However, he would run out of time as Bill Frye went on to take the win over Joey Mack, Merchant, Jon Mitchell, and Kyle Beard.

Hot laps wreaked havoc for several teams as Billy Moyer Jr., Allen Tippen, and Shane Stephens all had mechanical woes that prevented them from starting their heat races. Moyer Jr. would unload a backup car and would go on to win his b-main from the 10th starting spot, while Stephens failed to transfer from his b-main, and Tippen would be a scratch for the night.

Heat races were won by Cory Daugherty, Jeff Floyd, Kevin Sitton, Bill Frye, and Rob Litton. The b-main events were topped by Billy Moyer Jr. and Dewaine Hottinger.

Joey Mack was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after advancing from his 12th starting spot to a 2nd place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Terry Henson. Henson was eligible for a provisional starting spot for the feature, but was unable to accept it due to mechanical woes.

The COMP Cams Top Performer was Bill Frye.

The COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour will travel to 67 Speedway in Texarkana, Arkansas on Saturday, May 8th for a $2,000 to win/$400 to start, 40 lap event. For more information on the event, please visit www.Texarkana67Speedway.com .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model Series, please visit www.MSRADirt.com .

COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models - May 7th, 2010
USA Speedway (Sterlington, LA)

Feature Results
1. Bill Frye (Greenbriar, AR)
2. Joey Mack (Benton, MO)
3. Kenny Merchant (Ruston, LA)
4. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
5. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
6. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
7. Kyle Cummings (Sibley, LA)
8. Kevin Sitton (Baytown, TX)
9. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
10. Robbie Stuart (DeRidder, LA)
11. Ronny Adams (Greenwood, LA))
12. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
13. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR)
14. Brandon Smith (Flora, AR)
15. Rob Litton (Alexandria, AR)
16. Cory Daugherty (Blue Mound, IL)
17. Jeremy Glasgow (Caledonia, MS)
18. Jeff Chandler (Minden, LA)
19. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie, MO)
20. Timothy Culp (West Monroe, LA)
DNS: Wesley Crutchfield, Eddie Provence, Stormy Derryberry, Bobby Derryberry, Bryan Sugg, Skip O'Neal, Allen Tippen, Eddie Taylor, Terry Henson, Josh Danzy, Jon Kirby, Shane Harris, Shane Stephens, Wesley Chandler

Entries: 34 (Representing Seven States)
Heat Winners: Cory Daugherty, Jeff Floyd, Kevin Sitton, Bill Frye, Rob Litton
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Rob Litton
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Terry Henson
Provisional: Jeff Sloan, Brandon Smith
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Joey Mack (12th-2nd)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bill Frye
Cautions: 5
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Rob Litton (1-7); Bill Frye (8-30)

McCreadie outduels Lanigan for World of Outlaws victory
at Swainsboro Raceway

Birkhofer collects $10,000 in May Day 2 Track Classic win at West Liberty Raceway

Lucas covers MSCCS Super Late Model competition at Southern Raceway

Hogge captures West Coast Shootout Late Model victory
at Thunderbowl Raceway

Titusville Terror survives 'Showdown in Sarvertown'
at Lernerville Speedway

Covert captures TSF 'Don Pugh Memorial' victory at Natural Bridge Speedway

Marlar scores Hugh 'Junebug' Rowland Memorial victory at Ponderosa Speedway

Owens takes second straight Lucas Oil Late Model victory at Bedford Speedway

Parker Jr scores first SWDRA win of the 2010 season at Canyon Speedway Park

Van Wormer collects $2,000 Late Model feature victory
at Winston Speedway

Kirby fights off Daly for West Coast Shootout victory at Bakersfield Speedway

Ivey collects $3,000 National Late Model Series victory at Golden Isles Speedway

Frank scores DIRTcar Late Model main event win at Lernerville Speedway

© 2005-10 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.