Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Anderson survives thrilling finish to net $3,000 MLRA victory at 24 Raceway

Richards masters slick surface to win Thursday night Firecracker 100 prelim

Erb Jr. scores UMP Summer Nationals feature victory at Belle-Clair Speedway

Bloomquist scores first Lucas Oil victory for Roush-Yates
at Volunteer Speedway

Carrier Jr. collects $5,000 Chuck Gear Memorial victory at Elkins Speedway

Vaught leads 40 laps but Birkhofer banks $10,000 at Cedar Lake Speedway

Boen scores NCRA Late Model feature victory at Junction Motor Speedway

Roberts paces Sunoco American Late Model Series at Moler Raceway Park

McGuire nets $4,000 GCP Engines Showdown win at Rocky Top Raceway

Owens outguns field in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt event at Cleveland Speedway

Fuller scores second straight World of Outlaws win at Merrittville Speedway

Moyer dominates 16th Annual 'Dream 100' on Sunday at famed Eldora Speedway

Minnick Jr. gets UFo Late Model win at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

Ben Shelton
BEEBE, Ark. (June 25) - After a slow start to the year, Kyle Beard from Trumann, Arkansas has turned up the wick over the past few weeks, and the current COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model point's leader padded his advantage on Friday night by picking up his second straight win with the tour in a 30 lap event at Beebe Speedway in Beebe, Arkansas.

Kyle Beard was the JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier for the $2,000 to win, 30 lap event and was flanked to his outside by Bill Frye. As the field took the green flag on a track which was in exceptional shape, Beard bolted to the lead with Bill Frye, Shane Stephens, Mark Stephens, and Dewaine Hottinger in pursuit. As the field completed the first lap, the caution flag would wave for Terry Henson, who saw a motor expire, causing him to come to a stop at the bottom of turn one.

On the ensuing restart, Beard once again headed to the cushion as Frye worked the low line with two and three wide battles throughout the pack behind the lead duo. The caution flag would be displayed again on the fourth circuit as Jon Mitchell was spun in turn three.

At the time of the caution, the top five running order continued to be Beard, Frye, Stephens, Kirby, and Hottinger. As the green flag waved again, Beard and Frye resumed their battle for the top spot as Jon Kirby and Joey Mack worked their way past Dewaine Hottinger and Mark Stephens to crack the top five.

As drivers made moves through the field, Kyle Beard set a blistering pace at the front of the pack and by lap 13, he led the frontrunners into lapped traffic. Over the next few laps, Beard and Frye would work lapped traffic masterfully as Beard maintained a two car length advantage. However, the caution would fly on lap 19 as Ian Samuals spun in turn three.

With the field lining up for the restart Kyle Beard maintained the top spot and was followed by Frye, Kirby, Mack, and Shane Stephens. As the green flag flew once again, Jon Kirby raced past Bill Frye for second, but Kirby's luck would soon take a turn for the worst as he got into the front stretch wall on the 20th circuit, resulting in heavy damage to his mount, bringing his night to an early end.

Once again the field lined up for the restart, and once again it was Beard heading to the cushion as Frye continued to work the low line with Joey Mack, Shane Stephens, and new fifth place runner, Curtis Cook, in tow.

A pivotal caution would wave on lap 27 for Ian Samuals, who once again spun his #86s Super Late Model. With Samuals heading pitside, the field lined up for a restart, and disaster would strike as the field made their way through turns three and four to the green flag. Several cars would get on the throttle a little early, which led to a pileup in turn four that collected drivers such as Daniel Waters, Curtis Cook, Dewaine Hottinger, Wade Johnson, and Andy Milliken. Also receiving damage from the incident was third place runner, Joey Mack, who saw his night come to a disappointing end with a broken drive train.

The next attempt to restart the final three laps of the event would be successful, and Beard went on to fight off a last lap challenge from Bill Frye to take the win by half a car length at the checkered flag. They were followed across the finish line by Shane Stephens, Jon Mitchell (who rebounded from his bad luck earlier in the race), and Brandon Smith.

With the win, Kyle Beard became the winningest driver in the history of the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour with seven wins.
Heat races for the twenty-two car field were won by Mark Stephens, Bill Frye, and Kyle Beard.

Clay Fisher won the b-main after a great side-by-side battled with Curtis Cook.

Eddie Provence was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after advancing from his 20th starting spot to a 7th place finish, which was his career best finish with the COMP Cams MSRA tour.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Joey Mack, who saw his hopes of no worse than a third place finish come to a screeching halt with three laps remaining when a chain reaction melee caused heavy damage to the drive train on his #97 Rocket.

The COMP Cams Top Performer was Kyle Beard.

The COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour will embark on the second night of the weekend's double header as they make their inaugural trip to Crawford County Speedway in Van Buren, Arkansas on Saturday, June 26th. For more information on the event, please visit and .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model Series, please visit .

COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models - June 25th, 2010
Beebe Speedway (Beebe, AR)
Feature Results
1. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
2. Bill Frye (Greenbriar, AR)
3. Shane Stephens (Arlington, TN)
4. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
5. Brandon Smith (Flora, AR)
6. Mark Stephens (Arlington, TN)
7. Eddie Provence (East End, AR)
8. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
9. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
10. Daniel Waters (Hoxie, AR)
11. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
12. Joey Mack (Benton, MO)
13. Curtis Cook (Conway, AR)
14. Andy Milliken (Greenwood, AR)
15. Wade Johnson (Beebe, AR)
16. Ian Samuals (Trumann, AR)
17. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
18. Stormy Derryberry (Monticello, AR)
19. Charlie Cole (Wynne, AR)
20. Terry Henson (North Little Rock, AR)
DNS: Wesley Crutchfield, Bobby Derryberry

Entries: 22 (Representing Three States)
Heat Winners: Mark Stephens, Bill Frye, Kyle Beard
B-Main Winner: Clay Fisher
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Kyle Beard
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Joey Mack
Provisional: Eddie Provence, Terry Henson
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Eddie Provence (20th-7th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Kyle Beard
Cautions: 7
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Kyle Beard (1-40)

© 2005-10   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.