Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Ben Shelton
VAN BUREN, Ark. (June 26) - One night after finishing in the second spot, Bill Frye from Greenbriar, Arkansas overcame Mother Nature and a solid field of competitors to power his #66 Rocket Chassis to his third COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model win on Saturday night at Crawford County Speedway in Van Buren, Arkansas.

With twenty-two competitors entered for battle, late evening showers almost saw the first ever COMP Cams MSRA event at the facility nixed before it ever got underway. However, the staff with the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour and Crawford County Speedway worked diligently to get the track race ready, and after a delay, the event finally got underway.

It was Jeff Floyd from Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, who accumulated the most passing points in heat race action to earn the JFR Graphics Pole Position for the 40 lap, $2,000 to win feature. He was joined on the front row by Bill Frye. At the drop of the green flag, Frye would use the high line to assume control of the lead with Floyd, Johnny Virden, and Kyle Beard in pursuit.

With a heavy cushion as a result of the rain earlier in the evening most of the competitors opted to run the cushion in the feature, and they would chase Frye the entire 40 laps as he raced his way to the win in front of a large, enthusiastic crowd. The triumph was his third of the 2010 COMP Cams MSRA campaign.

Frye was followed across the finish line by Jeff Floyd, Kyle Beard, Johnny Virden, and Dewaine Hottinger.

Via his win, Bill Frye moved into the second position in the COMP Cams MSRA standings behind Kyle Beard. The victory also tied Frye with Kyle Beard as the winningest driver in the history of the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour with seven wins.

Two time, COMP Cams MSRA Champion, Joey Mack, endured tough luck for the second straight night. In heat race action, Mack had an oil fire, but refused to pit as he shot smoke and fire out of his #97 Rocket for the last few laps of his heat race. In the feature, the oil leak returned soaking his tire, which caused him to push up the track and jump the cushion. He would rebound to a 7th place finish.

Heat races for the twenty-two car field were won by Bill Frye, Jeff Floyd, and Johnny Virden.

Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year contender, Brandon Smith was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after racing his way from his 14th starting position to an 8th place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year contender, Charlie Cole, who saw his night come to an early after he sustained damage in an early race incident.
The COMP Cams Top Performer was Bill Frye.

The COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour will take a one week break before returning to action with a double header on July 9th-10th. The tour will make its inaugural visit to Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, Louisiana on Friday, July 9th with a $2,000 to win/$300 to start, 30 lap event before moving on to 67 Speedway in Texarkana, Arkansas for a $2,000 to win/$400 to start, 40 lap program on Saturday, July 10th. For more information on the events, please visit,, and .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model Series, please visit .

COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models - June 26, 2010
Crawford County Speedway (Van Buren, AR)
Feature Results
1. Bill Frye (Greenbriar, AR)
2. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
3. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
4. Johnny Virden (Russellville, AR)
5. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
6. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
7. Joey Mack (Benton, MO)
8. Brandon Smith (Flora, AR)
9. Ian Samuals (Trumann, AR)
10. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
11. Larry Campbell (Van Buren, AR)
12. Shane Stephens (Arlington, TN)
13. Eddie Martin (Stillwell, OK)
14. Mark Stephens (Arlington, TN)
15. Stormy Derryberry (Monticello, AR)
16. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
17. Eddie Provence (East End, AR)
18. Randy Russell (Fort Smith, AR)
19. Brandon Cheek (Hackett, AR)
20. Ray Peacock (Alma, AR)
21. Charlie Cole (Wynne, AR)
22. Colton Dunlap (Muskogee, OK)
Entries: 22 (Representing Five States)

Heat Winners: Bill Frye, Jeff Floyd, Johnny Virden
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Jeff Floyd
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Charlie Cole
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Brandon Smith (14th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bill Frye
Cautions: 3
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Bill Frye (1-40)

Anderson survives thrilling finish to net $3,000 MLRA victory at 24 Raceway

Richards masters slick surface to win Thursday night Firecracker 100 prelim

Erb Jr. scores UMP Summer Nationals feature victory at Belle-Clair Speedway

Bloomquist scores first Lucas Oil victory for Roush-Yates
at Volunteer Speedway

Carrier Jr. collects $5,000 Chuck Gear Memorial victory at Elkins Speedway

Vaught leads 40 laps but Birkhofer banks $10,000 at Cedar Lake Speedway

Boen scores NCRA Late Model feature victory at Junction Motor Speedway

Roberts paces Sunoco American Late Model Series at Moler Raceway Park

McGuire nets $4,000 GCP Engines Showdown win at Rocky Top Raceway

Owens outguns field in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt event at Cleveland Speedway

Fuller scores second straight World of Outlaws win at Merrittville Speedway

Moyer dominates 16th Annual 'Dream 100' on Sunday at famed Eldora Speedway

Minnick Jr. gets UFo Late Model win at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

© 2005-10   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.