Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Lanigan steals Thursday night World of Outlaws Series win at Sharon Speedway

Bloomquist takes sixth Lucas Oil Late Model victory at Utica-Rome Speedway

Knollinger is eighth different Fastrak NE Series winner at Sharon Speedway

Lanigan captures World of Outlaws victory at Central Pennsylvania Speedway

Owens scores Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory at Fonda Speedway

Kloos tops Late Models at Tuesday Night Fair Race at Highland Speedway

Aikey collects $2,000 Corn Belt Clash Series win at Fayette Co. Speedway

Davenport claims Southern Nationals championship at Tazewell Speedway

Boen notches 50th career NCRA Late Model win at Thunder Hill Speedway

Johnson captures Southern Regional Racing Series win
at North Georgia Speedway

Hartman grabs $5,000 Late Model victory in tuneup at Florence Speedway

Flinner and rain top UFo's PENNationals at Pittsburgh PA Motor Speedway

Breazeale captures MSCCS Super Late Model win at Southern Speedway

Ben Shelton
HARRISBURG, Ark. (July 31) - Round #2 of the RiceTec Summer Showdown for the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models was held on Saturday night at Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, Arkansas, and it was defending series' champion, Billy Moyer Jr., who claimed the win.

Twenty-nine Super Late Models entered the $2,000 to win event on the mile oval, which for the second time in 2010 would produce a phenomenal forty lap feature. Jon Kirby was the JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier, and he was joined on the front row by Bill Frye, who would use the cushion to take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Frye would lead the first two circuits before third starting, Billy Moyer Jr., pulled even with him on the third circuit. The duo would battle side-by-side for the lead for two laps before Moyer Jr. assumed the lead for good on the fifth lap.

As Moyer Jr. began to inch away from the field Kirby and Frye began to wage a great battle for the second spot. Lap 10 would see top five runner and current COMP Cams MSRA point's leader, Kyle Beard, slip off the back stretch causing him to fall to the 14th spot. Over the next several laps he would methodically begin to work his way back through the field.

Near disaster would strike for second place runner, Bill Frye, on lap 22, as he jumped the cushion and ran off the track, causing him to lose several spots before he was able to recover. However, caution would wave on the same lap as a car at the back of the pack spun. As a result, with the field reverted to the previously completed lap, Frye would resume the second spot.

Over the remainder of the event, Moyer Jr. would enjoy a comfortable lead as Kyle Beard found his way back into the top five with ten laps remaining and with a few laps left in the feature would race his way past Bill Frye for the second spot. However, he would run out of time in trying to catch Moyer Jr., who went on to claim his third tour triumph of the 2010 season. Beard, Frye, Kirby, and Jon Mitchell rounded out the top five.

Heat races for the twenty-nine car field were won by Rodney Melvin, Bill Frye, Jon Kirby, and Billy Moyer Jr. Todd Hall and Eric Turner won the twin b-mains, while Terry Henson and Eddie Provence utilized series' provisionals to start the feature.

Joey Mack was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after racing his way from his 18th starting position to an 8th place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Terry Henson, who had the fan blade break in the feature, knocking the plug wires loose, which brought his night to an end..

The COMP Cams Top Performer was Billy Moyer Jr.

The COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour will host Round #3 and Round #4 of the RiceTec Summer Showdown next weekend as the series invades USA Speedway (Sterlington, Louisiana) on Friday and I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas) on Saturday. For more information, please visit,, and .

For the latest information on the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model Series, please visit .

COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Models - July 31st, 2010
Northeast Arkansas Speedway (Harrisburg, AR)

Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
3. Bill Frye (Greenbrier, AR)
4. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
5. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
6. Curtis Cook (Conway, AR)
7. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
8. Joey Mack (Benton, MO)
9. Todd Hall (Charleston, MO)
10. Shane Harris (Sheridan, AR)
11. Brandon Smith (Flora, AR)
12. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
13. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO)
14. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL)
15. Eddie Provence (East End, AR)
16. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie, MO)
17. Terry Henson (North Little Rock, AR)
18. Jamie Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
19. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
20. Ian Samuels (Trumann, AR)

DNS: Austin Rettig, Robert Lovette, Jimmy Miller, Chad Williams, Wade Douglas, Wesley Crutchfield, Thomas Dacus, Allen Rettig, Stormy Derryberry
Entries: 29 (Representing Five States)
Heat Winners: Rodney Melvin, Jon Kirby, Billy Moyer Jr., Bill Frye
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Jon Kirby
Provisionals: Terry Henson, Eddie Provence
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Terry Henson
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Joey Mack (18th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Cautions: 1
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Bill Frye (1-4), Billy Moyer Jr. (5-40)

© 2005-10   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.