Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

Johnson collects Southern Regional Racing Series win
at Boyd's Speedway

Murray claims COMP Cams Super Dirt Series season opener at Beebe Speedway

Disheartening night served as catalyst for Lobb's World of Outlaws Rookie run in 2011

McCool sweeps Tennessee Super Series action at
Duck River Speedway

Looney takes MLRA Late Model Spring Meltdown opener at I-80 Speedway

Unzicker tops UMP Late Model Don Bohlander Tribute race at Peoria Speedway

Hill captures NASRA Charles Trammell Memorial win at Tazewell Speedway

Bloomquist banks $20,000 Lucas Oil Late Model victory at Lonestar Speedway

Stovall takes MARS DIRTcar Series victory on Friday at Thunderbird Speedway

Harris scores Deery Series 2011 opener at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway

Lanigan outruns Richards for World of Outlaws 'Sunshine 50' win at Ocala Speedway

Weather related Track and Series cancellations for weekend of March 25-27

Lanigan banks $20K World of Outlaws 'Cash Cow 100' win at Columbus Speedway

Ben Shelton
BEEBE, Ark. (April 8) - The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series opened its 2011 season on Friday night at Beebe Speedway (Beebe, Arkansas) with a 35 lap, $2,000 to win event, and it was first time winner, Allen Murray, who stood in victory lane at the end of the opener.

Twenty-six Super Late Models, representing six states, were on hand for the 2011 lid-lifter, and it would prove to be a race that would not leave the fans disappointed. The JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier was Greenbrier, Arkansas driver, Jack Sullivan, who earned the most points in heat race action in his #1s GRT House Car. He was joined on the front row by Jon Mitchell from Texarkana, Texas, and at the drop of the green flag it was Mitchell, who edged to the narrow lead over Sullivan, Bill Frye, Allen Murray, and Gary Christian. During the opening laps Mitchell would inch away from the field as Sullivan and Frye began a spirited battle for the second spot.

The race would see a series of caution flags during the first half of the event, which kept the leaders in tight quarters, but Mitchell would maintain the top spot. As the field continued to battle two and three wide all eyes would turn to the battle for second as Sullivan and Frye continued an intense battle for the position. Lap 25 would see the culmination of the battle as contact between the two down the backstretch would see Sullivan spin out of control to the top of turn three. After a few intense moments under caution, Sullivan would ultimately decide to retire from the event.

As the field prepared to restart, the top five running order consisted of
Mitchell, Frye, Murray, Christian, and Wendell Wallace, who was making his first appearance in the top five. On the restart, Murray would shoot past Frye for second, and two laps later Frye would bring out the final caution as he slowed in turn two with a flat left rear. He would duck into the pits and rejoin the field for the final five laps.

On the restart, Mitchell would continue to battle a treacherous cushion, and on lap 33 the cushion would claim Mitchell allowing Murray and Wallace to move past. Murray would go on to lead the last two laps to claim the win, but in his excitement of his first win he would spin in turn one after taking the checkered flag causing several drivers to be forced into evasive action including the third place finishing Mitchell who climbed the turn one wall with his car. The final top five in the chaos-filled event would consist of race winner, Allen Murray, Austin Rettig, Jon Mitchell, Wendell Wallace, and Gary Christian.

The Rocket Chassis First Heat was won by Jack Sullivan with Jon Kirby winning the Second Heat Race, while Jon Mitchell won the Woodco Inc. Third Heat Race, and Austin Rettig won the fourth and final heat race.

The twin b-mains were won by Curtis Cook and Billy Moyer Jr.

Series provisionals were utilized by Terry Henson and Wesley Crutchfield.

Brandon Smith was the recipient of the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award after advancing from his 17th starting spot to a 7th place finish.

The Quarter Master Hard Luck Award went to Allen Rettig, who saw his car heavily damaged in b-main action.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series will see the second night of the weekend double header held on Saturday night at Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Arkansas) with the 3rd Annual Bartlett Hardwood Floor Service Spring Fling. The driver's meeting is slated for 6:15 with hot laps to follow. For more information on the event, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series - April 8th, 2011
Beebe Speedway (Beebe, Arkansas)

Feature Results
1. Allen Murray (San Antonio, Texas)
2. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, Missouri)
3. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
4. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
5. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Oklahoma)
6. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
7. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
8. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, Arkansas)
9. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, Arkansas)
10. Bill Frye (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
11. Johnny Virden (Russellville, Arkansas)
12. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
13. Terry Henson (North Little Rock, Arkansas)
14. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie,Missouri)
15. Wesley Crutchfield (Prattsville, Arkansas)
16. Shane Stephens (Arlington, Tennessee)
17. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
18. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, Arkansas)
19. Shane Harris (Sheridan, Arkansas)
20. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)

DNS: Andy Millican, Ian Samuel, Allen Rettig, Ross Camponovo, Daniel Waters, Keith Lawson

Entries: 26 Representing Six States (AR, MO, OK, TX, TN, MS)
Heat Winners: Jack Sullivan, Jon Mitchell, Jon Kirby, Austin Rettig
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Jack Sullivan
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Allen Rettig
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Brandon Smith (17th-7th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Allen Murray
Cautions: 6
Red Flag: 0
Leaders: Jon Mitchell (1-33); Allen Murray (34-35)

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company,, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., JFR Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, MSR Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, Boomland, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza,, Schoenfeld Headers, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit .

© 2005-11   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.