Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

David Smith Jr
PARCK CITY, Kans. (September 18) - It is a tradition that has spanned for several years and this year, for the second year in a row, the annual "Cornhusker Classic" await the O'Reilly/NCRA late model division presented by ICM/Ethanol drivers as they make the one night trip to I-80 Speedway at Nebraska Raceway Park in Greenwood, Nebraska next Saturday night, September 20. The $3000 to win $400 to start event will also involve the Missouri based O'Reilly/Midwest Late Model Racing Association (MLRA).

Thanks in large part to his series leading five feature victories, three-time and defending division champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado comes into the event with a 25 point lead over Marquette, Nebraska's Kyle Berck. With four events left on the 2008 race schedule, both drivers have virtually distanced themselves from the rest of the regulars but that the battle for point position is any less important.

Wichita, Kansas late model veteran Delbert "the Ice Man" Smith sits third in the point standings with a forty point advantage over Bryant Goldsmith of Corning, Iowa. Despite missing four races, Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Nebraska is fifth in points.

Despite missing four events, John Anderson of Omaha is sixth in the point standings and has two feature victories on the season. Rounding out the top ten are Shawn Harker of Plattsmouth, Nebraska, Jason Friesen of Sutton, Kelly Dunn of Salina, Kansas and Bill Koons of Omaha.

In the battle for the divisions rookie of the year honors, Harker has a 43 point lead over Wylan Petrie of Soloman, Nebraska.

In total, eight drivers have competed in all fifteen events held this season while ten drivers have missed no more than four races. Over fifty drivers from six states are expected to compete.

John Hampel of Nodaway, Iowa won last years Classic, sanctioned for the first time by the NCRA. He also won the event back in 2004. Previous race winners include, Chris Simpson (2006), Boen (2005), Darren Miller (2002) and Terry Neal (2001).

All gates open a 2:30 p.m. with hot laps scheduled for 5:00 p.m. Racing starts at 6:00 p.m. Entry fee is $100 with pit passes $25. Grandstand adult tickets are $20 with Juniors ages 13-18, $15. Tickets for kids 6-12 are $3 while ages five and under are free.

I-80 Speedway at Nebraska Raceway Park is located between Omaha and Lincoln off I-80 at exit 420. For more race information, check out the tracks website or call (402) 944-2233.

The National Championship Racing Association is entering it's 38th season of sanctioning dirt track races, this year in five different states in its sprint car, modified and late model divisions combined. The 2008 race season will see the series' late model division compete for the 25th season. To learn more on the history of NCRA, rules, schedules and more, log on to their official website To schedule an NCRA late model event for the 2009 season, climb aboard as contingency partner or for any questions concerning the series, contact competition director of the NCRA late models Chris Smith (918) 625-6200 or call the series office (316) 755-1781.

The O'Reilly/NCRA presented by ICM/Ethanol would like to thank the following contingency sponsors in the late model division for the 2008 race season: ICM/Ethanol, Sunoco Race Fuels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Arizona Sport Shirts, Weld Racing Wheels, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Holley Performance Products, INCE Race Cars, GRT Race Cars, Winters Performance Products, Taylor Vertex, Schoenfeld Headers, Auto Meter, Taylor Cable Products, BSB Race Parts, Hatfield Racing Engines, QA1 Motorsports, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Ultra-Shield Race Products, AFCO Racing Shocks, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics and Design 500.

Clanton's surge continues with WoO 'Pepsi Nationals' win at I-55 Raceway

Madden tops Southern All Stars East Hall of Fame 75 at Cherokee Speedway

Miller captures 34th Annual Hub City 100 victory at Hagerstown Speedway

O'Neal collects $3,400 'Ironman Challenge' victory at Richmond Raceway

Feger nets $5,000 Wayne Coakley Memorial win at Paducah Int'l Raceway

Hollingsworth captures Southern Allstars slugfest at Swainsboro Raceway

Wallace tops night one of MSRA weekend at the Poinsett County Raceway

Clanton collects $41,000 for 38th Annual 'World 100' triumph at Eldora Speedway

Simpson takes double WDRL Late Model wins at Freeport Raceway Park

Phillips 10th different winner on O'Reilly MSRA tour at Tri State Speedway

Clanton collects $41,000 for 38th Annual 'World 100' triumph at Eldora Speedway

Simpson takes double WDRL Late Model wins at Freeport Raceway Park

Phillips 10th different winner on O'Reilly MSRA tour at Tri State Speedway

Miller is crowned 'King of the Knob' at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

English tops the Southern Regional Racing Series at Clayhill Motorsports

© 2008   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.