Dirt Late Model
National Headlines

JCRacing Promotions
GAFFNEY, S.C. (June 26) - Jonathan Davenport put on a dominating display last Friday Night by setting fast time and leading all 50 laps of the $7,000 12th Annual Grassy Smith Memorial at Cherokee Speedway. Davenport held off challenges from Johnny Pursley and Jeff Smith on a dry and narrow racing groove. Jeff Smith would finish in 2nd five car lengths back in this race honoring his late grandfather. Chris Ferguson ,who won the last EAST race at Cherokee, started on the outside pole but broke before taking a green flag.

Not to be outdone, Defending 3 time and current EAST Champion Casey Roberts blistered the field also setting fast time and leading all 50 laps of the $6,000 4th Annual Robert Pursley & Friends Memorial this following Saturday Night at I-77 Speedway. Roberts, who was involved in a 1st lap accident the night before at Cherokee, was never contested throughout this event. The standing room only crowd saw the 101 leading the field at times by a complete straightaway. Jonathan Davenport ended a fantastic weekend run with a 2nd place finish. This victory put Casey Roberts within 12 points of Series leader Johnny Pursley.

Up next the SAS EAST will return to Cherokee Speedway Saturday Night July 3rd for the 40 lap $4,000 to win Annual Independence Shootout and Firework Display. In addition, Officials with the Southern All Stars & Southern All Stars EAST Series have announced a $1,000 Bonus program for drivers competing in both the Friday July 2nd race at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Virginia and Cherokee Speedway the following Saturday night. Making efforts to provide a family atmosphere at affordable pricing, Cherokee Speedway has reduced grandstand Admission to $18 for this Special Independence Weekend Saturday Night Show. And coming in two weeks on Saturday Night July 17th Cherokee Speedway will hold its anticipated 'Fan Appreciation' night - with grandstand admission being FREE to all ages.

Race #4: Cherokee Speedway SASE Super Late Model Results (starting position)
1. Jonathan Davenport (1), 2. Jeff Smith (8), 3. Johnny Pursley (5), 4. Jordan Bland (9), 5. Jeff Cooke (6), 6. Dennis Franklin (3), 7. Zach Mitchell (15), 8. Freddy Smith (11), 9. Mike Collins (23), 10. Chris Madden (10), 11. Mike Gault (13), 12. Tony Knowles, 13. Donald Bradsher, 14. Ross Bailes (22), 15. John Pursley (20), 16. Travis Leake (16), 17. Lee Sutton, 18. Kelly Thacker (17), 19. Randy Adams, 20. Casey Roberts (4), 21. Jim Rasey (12), 22. Chris Ferguson (2)
Carolina Driveline Fast Time Award: Jonathan Davenport
Bailes Construction Hard Charger Award: Mike Collins 23rd to 9th
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Chris Ferguson (torque arm)

Race#5: I-77 Speedway SASE Super Late Model Results (starting position)
1. Casey Roberts (1), 2. Jonathan Davenport (7), 3. Johnny Pursley (2), 4. Mike Gault (13), 5. Ross Bailes (4), 6. Randy Smith (14), 7. Travis Leake (5), 8. Jeff Cooke (12), 9. Jim Racey (8), 10. Donald Bradsher (3), 11. Zack Mitchell (16), 12. Jason Burroughs (20), 13. Chris Ferguson (6), 14. Ronnie Hoover (10), 15. Kenny Rominger (18), 16. John Pursley (9), 17. Jeff Smith (11), 18. Chris Madden (15), 19. Donnie Austin (17), 20. Jeff Knight (19)
Carolina Driveline Fast Time Award: Casey Roberts
Bailes Construction Hard Charger Award: Mike Gault 13th to 4th
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Chris Madden (oil line)

Bloomquist scores first Lucas Oil victory for Roush-Yates
at Volunteer Speedway

Carrier Jr. collects $5,000 Chuck Gear Memorial victory at Elkins Speedway

Vaught leads 40 laps but Birkhofer banks $10,000 at Cedar Lake Speedway

Boen scores NCRA Late Model feature victory at Junction Motor Speedway

Roberts paces Sunoco American Late Model Series at Moler Raceway Park

McGuire nets $4,000 GCP Engines Showdown win at Rocky Top Raceway

Owens outguns field in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt event at Cleveland Speedway

Fuller scores second straight World of Outlaws win at Merrittville Speedway

Moyer dominates 16th Annual 'Dream 100' on Sunday at famed Eldora Speedway

Minnick Jr. gets UFo Late Model win at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

Weaver grabs Southern All Stars Series victory at the Mountain Raceway Park

Thornton takes fifth SWDRA victory of the season at the Thunder Raceway

Miller scores first Late Model feature win of the season at Willamette Speedway

© 2005-10 Latemodelracer.com   all rights reserved
Do not redistribute or duplicate without expressed permission from LMR.