Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/29/22 at 11:39am


Pages: 1
Crawford Co. Speedway (CCSDS) - 5/7 Results (Read 2061 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Crawford Co. Speedway (CCSDS) - 5/7 Results
05/08/11 at 2:27pm
MAY 7, 2011

Billy Moyer Jr. Wins Last Lap Thriller at Crawford County

by Ben Shelton
Van Buren, Arkansas (05/07/11) It may have only been the fifth event of the 2011 season, but on Saturday night at Crawford County Speedway (Van Buren, AR) the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series held what may arguably end up as the finish of the year on the tour as Billy Moyer Jr. led only the last quarter lap to claim the $2,000 win.

Twenty-eight Super Late Models entered the event, and it was Dane Dacus, who locked into the JFR Graphics Pole Position for the 35 lap feature after earning the most points in heat race action. Kyle Beard flanked him to the outside on the starting grid, and it was Beard, who shot to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Dacus and Moyer Jr. in tow.

Beard would pace the first 25 laps before the event's first caution flew on lap 25 for Bill Frye, who went off the end of the track. Frye would rejoin the tail, and the race would endure two more cautions in the next two laps before setting up an eight lap dash to the checkered flag, which would be memorable to say the least.

Beard would maintain the lead over Moyer Jr. until lap 33, when the leader caught lapped traffic and Moyer Jr. took advantage of the situation to make it three wide with Beard and the lapped car of Keith Lawson at the white flag. The leaders would battle side by side into turns one and two and down the backstretch, and entering turn three Beard would go high to navigate lapped traffic as Moyer Jr. shot to the bottom. Exiting turn four Moyer Jr. would inch ahead by a matter of feet to claim the win in the near photo finish over Beard, Dane Dacus, Gary Christian, and Jack Sullivan.

Although Christian finished fourth at the checkered flag he was disqualified for an altercation with Dacus after the race. Christian was relegated to a 21st place finish.

The Rocket Chassis First Heat was won by Dane Dacus with Kyle Beard winning the RacingJunk.com Second Heat Race, Billy Moyer Jr. winning the Woodco Inc. Third Heat Race, and Dewaine Hottinger claiming the Racing Head Service Fourth Heat.

The Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurants b-mains were topped by Curtis Cook and Jon Mitchell.

CCSDS provisionals were utilized by Keith Lawson and Jeff Sloan, while Show Me Late Model Series provisional was awarded to Larry Campbell.

Jon Kirby was the recipient of the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after contact from another car brought his night to an end on lap 27..

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Jon Mitchell, who advanced from his sixteenth starting spot to record a ninth place finish for the second night in a row.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series will continue the 2011 campaign next weekend, May 13th-14th, as the tour thunders into USA Speedway (Sterlington, Louisiana) on Friday night and Drew County Speedway (Monticelllo, Arkansas) on Saturday night .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series May 7th, 2011
Crawford County Speedway (Van Buren, AR)

Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
3. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
4. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
5. Brandon Hunter (Alma, AR)
6. Johnny Virden (Russellville, AR)
7. Justin Wells (Aurora, MO)
8. Larry Campbell (Van Buren, AR)
9. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
10. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, AR)
11. Bill Frye (Greenbrier, AR)
12. Shane Harris (Sheridan, AR)
13. Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
14. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO)
15. Eric Tinderholt (Lampe, MO)
16. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie, MO)
17. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
18. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
19. Jay Rierson (Booneville, AR)
20. Keith Lawson (Houston, AR)
21. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, OK) DQ

Entries: 28
Rocket Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Dane Dacus
RacingJunk.com Heat Race #2 Winner: Kyle Beard
Woodco, Inc. Heat Race #3 Winner: Billy Moyer Jr.
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4: Dewaine Hottinger
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Curtis Cook, Jon Mitchell
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Dane Dacus
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Jon Kirby
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Jon Mitchell (16th-9th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Leaders: Kyle Beard (1-34), Billy Moyer Jr. (35)
Cautions: 3
Red Flags: 0
CCSDS Provisionals: Jeff Sloan, Keith Lawson
Show Me Late Model Series Provisional: Larry Campbell

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, RacingJunk.com, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., JFR Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, Boomland, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.