Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 11/29/22 at 12:13pm


Pages: 1
Thunderbird Speedway (CCSDS) - 5/6 Results (Read 5676 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Thunderbird Speedway (CCSDS) - 5/6 Results
05/07/11 at 12:32am
MAY 6, 2011

Billy Moyer Jr. Tops COMP Cams Super Dirt Series at Thunderbird Speedway

By Ben Shelton
Muskogee, Oklahoma (05/06/11) The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series broke into new territory on Friday night as they sanctioned their first ever event at the 1/2 mile oval at Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, Oklahoma), and it would prove to be a debut that would soon not be forgotten, as Billy Moyer Jr. claimed the $2,000 win.

Bill Frye charged from the back row of the Woodco, Inc. third heat race to claim the heat win and along the way earned the most points in heat race action to lock into the JFR Graphics Pole starting position for the 25 lap feature with Friday night's winner, Kelly Boen lined up to his outside. As the race went green it was Boen at the point with Frye, Billy Moyer Jr., and Dane Dacus in tow.

Boen would pace the event on the cushion for the first 20 laps, but as the field entered turn one with five laps remaining, Dane Dacus pulled even with Boen. As the pair entered the corner they would make contact resulting in both drivers crashing hard into the turn one wall resulting in heavy damage to both cars. A brief altercation would take place between the two drivers in turn one before being separated.

After a lengthy red flag the field prepared to go back to green with Bill Frye the leader followed by Kyle Beard and Billy Moyer Jr. Frye would lead the next couple of laps before Moyer Jr. used the low groove to pass Frye for the lead on lap 23, and Moyer Jr., who was the 2009 tour champion, went on to lead the closing laps to claim the win over Frye, Beard, Jon Mitchell, and Jon Kirby.

The Rocket Chassis First Heat was won by Justin Asplin with Billy Moyer Jr. winning the RacingJunk.com Second Heat Race, and Bill Frye winning the Woodco Inc. Third Heat Race.

The Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurants b-main was won by Johnny Virden.

CCSDS provisionals were utilized by Austin Rettig and Dewaine Hottinger, while Show Me Late Model Series provisional was awarded to.

Austin Rettig was the recipient of the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after having the front end break in the feature.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Jack Sullivan, who advanced from his sixteenth starting spot to record a sixth place finish for the second night in a row.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series will conclude their triple header weekend on Saturday night as the tour rolls into Crawford County Speedway (Van Buren, Arkansas) for another $2,000 to win/$400 to start program. For more information on the event, please visit www.CrawfordCountySpeedway.net .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series May 6th, 2011
Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, Oklahoma)
Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2. Bill Frye (Greenbrier, AR)
3. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
4. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
5. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
6. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
7. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO)
8. Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
9. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
10. Raymond Merrill (Salisaw, OK)
11. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, OK)
12. Johnny Virden (Russellville, AR)
13. Brandon Cheek (Hackett, AR)
14. Shane Harris (Sheridan, AR)
15. Jeff Sloan (East Prairie, MO)
16. Eric Tinderholt (Lampe, MO)
17. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO)
18. Keith Lawson (Houston, AR)
19. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, AR)
20. Kelly Boen (Henderson, CO)
21. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, TN)

Entries: 27
Rocket Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Justin Asplin
RacingJunk.com Heat Race #2 Winner: Billy Moyer Jr.
Woodco, Inc. Heat Race #3 Winner: Bill Frye
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winner: Johnny Virden
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Bill Frye
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Austin Rettig
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Jack Sullivan (16th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Leaders: Kelly Boen (1-20), Bill Frye (21-22), Billy Moyer Jr. (23-25)
Cautions: 3
Red Flags: 1
CCSDS Provisionals: Jeff Sloan, Keith Lawson
Show Me Late Model Series Provisional: Brandon Cheek

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, RacingJunk.com, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., JFR Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, Boomland, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Re: Thunderbird Speedway (CCSDS) - 5/6 Results
Reply #1 - 05/07/11 at 1:17pm
MAY 6, 2011

Image courtesy of Michael Holloway

Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.