Home | Help | Search | Login

Welcome, Guest. Please Login 07/09/20 at 2:31pm


Pages: 1
Clash at Dublin Motor Speedway - 9/24 Results (Read 1225 times)
LMR Admin


Posts: 14880
United States
Clash at Dublin Motor Speedway - 9/24 Results
09/25/11 at 3:48am
Carolina Clash Super Late Models
Dublin Motor Speedway
September 24, 2011

Franklin Picks up Win in Round 4 of the JE Pistons Roush/Yates "Chase for the Championship" at Dublin Motor Speedway

DUBLIN, N.C. - Dennis Franklin visited victory lane Saturday night picking up the $4000 to win Carolina Clash event at Dublin Motor Speedway. Rambo made good use of the front row starting position as he battled hard in the beginning laps with Luke Roffers before taking the point. Rambo never looked back as he went flag to flag en-route to crossing the checkered flag first. Compton Jr. followed Rambo across the line to take the runner up spot. It was Rambo's 2nd Clash victory of the season and the win moved him back into the JE Pistons Roush/Yates Performance Parts "Chase for the Championship" points lead.

Luke Roffers rolled into Dublin 3rd in the Chase points and on a mission to make up valuable points as he was only 23 points out. Roffers ran a blistering lap of 15.935 to take the XS Power Batteries Fastest Qualifier Award. Roffers also received $100 gift certificate from RRS (Russ Repair Service) for his qualifying effort. RRS, located in Loris, SC, repairs racing chassis and sells racing equipment. Roffers night ended with disappointment as he and Compton Jr. made contact on the restart of lap5 which took Roffers out of contention and collected Chase Contenders Daivd Taylor, Tim Allen and Travis Yow. Allen's night was cut short from the heavy damage received in the incident. Taylor and Yow went behind the wall for repairs and were able to rejoin the field.

In the last quarter of the race the 2009 Carolina Clash Champion, Jeff Smith, battled with Scott Autry, and Mike Gault. Autry and Gault's night ended just short of the goal after getting tangled up with a lap car going in turn one on lap 35. Smith was able to avoid the incident and went on to finish third.

Chuck Smith earned the Safety Kleen Hard Charger of the Race Award by gaining 12 spots en-route to a 5th finish. It was a career best Carolina Clash finish for Smith.

Rookie of the Year contender Travis Yow began the night with a 14th place qualifying run. Not as good as he had hoped for but as it is in racing, it's not where you start, it's where you finish. After getting involved in an early race incident, Yow was able to race back up to a ninth place finish and earn the Klotz Lubricants Rookie of the Race Award. Yow continues to lead the ROY points.

In the JE Pistons Roush/Yates Performance Parts "Chase for the Championship" Rambo regained the points lead by 8 over Kenny Compton Jr. Roffers holds onto third and Smith holds the fourth spot. Mike Gault and Scott Autry share the fifth spot. Dustin Mitchell moved up one spot in Chase points to the seventh place only 7 points ahead of ROY contender Travis Yow. Tim Allen dropped two spots in the chase to the ninth spot and David Taylor holds on to the tenth spot. Taylor is followed by Jay Sessoms, Crag Shuffield, and Chad Paxton.

In the 2011 season winners list Luke Roffers leads with four Carolina Clash victories. Ray Cook and Dennis Franklin have 2 Carolina Clash wins to date. Chris Ferguson, Johnny Pursley, Kenny Compton Jr, Austin Dillon, Ricky Weeks, Scott Autry, and Ross Bailes all have scored one Carolina Clash victory this season. A lot of top notch drivers are still looking for their first Clash victory of the season and this could be the race we add a new name to the winners list.

The next event for the Carolina Clash will be at the 311 Speedway on Saturday Night, October 10. Dennis Franklin and Ricky Weeks have a Clash victory at 311 this season. Rambo won the June event and Weeks won the July event. With only two Carolina Clash races remaining in the Season, and in the "Chase for the Championship," the chase contenders will be laying all the cards on the table.

1. Dennis Franklin
2. Kenny Compton Jr.
3. Jeff Smith
4. Dean Bowen
5. Chuck Smith
6. Scott Autry
7. Mike Gault
8. Kerry King
9. Travis Yow
10. Dale Hammond
11. Chris Miller
12. Dustin Mitchell
13. David Taylor
14. Jay Sessoms
15. Greg Clark
16. Craig Shuffield
17. Daulton Wilson
18. Brett Dysart
19. Luke Roffers
20. Tim Allen
21. Ray Tucker
22. Travis Hair
23. Chris Blackwell
24. Mike Parker

Countdown to the Cup standings
1. Dennis Franklin 3,693
2. Kenny Compton Jr. 3,685
3. Luke Roffers 3,601
4. Jeff Smith 3,594
5. Scott Autry 3,543
6. Mike Gault 3,543
7. Dustin Mitchell 3,489
8. Travis Yow 3,482
9. Tim Allen 3,481
10. David Taylor 3,464
11. Jay Sessoms 3,412
12. Craig Shuffield 3,396
13. Chad Paxton 3,141
Back to top

WWW   IP Logged
Pages: 1

Latemodelracer.com » Powered by YaBB 2.2.3!
YaBB © 2000-2008. All Rights Reserved.